We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Berlin”
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastanienhof
Ranked #130 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Great weekend in Berlin. Hotel located in lively area and very close to all major sights - short tram ride (tram stops outside hotel and runs every 10 minutes) - Could have easily walked in and did so on a couple of occasions - staff very friendly and helpful. Short walk to the Mauerpark - huge flea market on Sunday which was fun. We had room 19 with the connecting room for our two children. Our room overlooked the street and we were not disturbed by outside noise at all - really great value for money and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 19 has connecting room if you have children - on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Joanne R,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of our Hotel Kastanienhof and the high score rating.

The public transportation nearby the hotel really helps to get started to discover Berlin.

Great, that you enjoyed the Suite room with your familiy and that our soundproofed windows kept the urban sounds away.

Next time, we would like to join for a walk through the flea market!

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kastanienhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic. Cozy rooms. Well staffed. Clean, affordable. Great neighborhood. We had room #10 which is two rooms. Our 16 yo son had his own room. Wifi included. Wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Kate J,

Thank you so much for the great 5 point rating and the lovely comment of our Hotel Kastanienhof.

It is always a pleasure to see, that we meet our guests expectations and that we could point with cozy rooms, staff, cleanliness and location.

We improved our WIFI network for a strong and fast connection (free of charge for all of our guests).

We will pass the praise for the restaurant forward to the restaurant "Ausspanne".
Maybe you would like to leave some nice words for them as well.

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Arriving a few hours early we were greeted by very friendly staff. Room was spacious, clean and overlooking the street.
A welcoming cup of coffee (free) set the friendliness of all the staff.
Breakfast was excellent value.
Upon knowing we would be travelling early in the morning and buying the public transport tickets at reception we were asked times we needed to go - when we arrived back after a short walk out we were given a print out of times of trams and details of how to get to airport.
We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MALCNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, Reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear MALCNorthampthon,

Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel Kastanienhof Berlin.

We will pass the kind words regarding the friendliness of the staff forward to all of them.
Our staff is always concerned about the happyness of all our guests and we live an authentic family and Berlin flair.

It is a pleasure to know, that our breakfast buffet is well recognised by so many guests!

We are looking forward to welcome you on day again.

With kind regards,

Clemens Lendt
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Just note that the tram stop is very close, so if you're really in search of a very quiet place, this might not be the case and that's why I don't give 5 stars but 4 only. Except form this, all the rest is perfect, from the beds to the friendly people working there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank N6691VEmarcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Very nice location with a number of nice places to eat or to have a drink nearby. The service is very friendly and the rooms are clean and with enough space for two. You can have a nice continental breakfast buffet for less then Euro 10. Wifi is free. In the evening you can also use a public restaurant, which is located at ground level. It offers mainly traditional German dishes. It offers good food for very reasonable prices.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Springergabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#353 of 635 in Berlin
101 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#62 of 635 in Berlin
266 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
#167 of 635 in Berlin
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#279 of 635 in Berlin
218 reviews
Mitte
Parkhotel MIDI Inn
Parkhotel MIDI Inn
#507 of 635 in Berlin
29 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#202 of 635 in Berlin
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Address: Kastanienallee 65 | Berlin Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
#83 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#92 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: €89 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kastanienhof is your friendly accommodation in the heart of Berlin-Mitte, located in the vibrant neighborhood between Alexanderplatz and Prenzlauer Berg. Our hotel, with its 44rooms, is inside a typical Berlin apartment building dating back to the 19th century. Every room is decorated with dedication, so you will find many testimonies of Berlin's exciting history. If you want to stay in a warm and cozy environment, experience a creative, cultural and, palatable neighborhood, reach all of Berlin's major sights in no time, then start your next Berlin trip at the Hotel Kastanienhof. The grand entrance hall leading to the mezzanine, the painted courtyard gateway, the stucco and the old stairways - you instantly are connected to Berlin's history. You should try out our hotel-own restaurand "Ausspanne". Our excellent chef Andre Pilz creats traditional german dishes in a modern way. Or you can enjoy our wide selection of drinks at our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastanienhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing