We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a well kept secret...”
Review of Askanischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Askanischer Hof
Ranked #432 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“a well kept secret...”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is the kind of place you do not want to tell people about - you just want it to be your secret. We stayed here in 2006 and never even considered staying elsewhere when planning our 2011 trip. We love this Old World, silent, classy place. The rooms are huge, spacious and spotless. Comfortable beds with snow white linen. Breakfast is more than adequate in a wonderful over-decorated dining room. A late night drink in the same room at night , with only one dim light on, is romantic and exciting. I felt part of a long history. The staff are great. We love this well-located, enchanting hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
49
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I booked this hotel thanks to Frommer's guidebook, not really knowing what to expect. Berlin was the last leg of our trip and we were already tired and ready to head home...but then we checked into the Askanischer Hof and were amazed by how spacious and luxurious it was. Buzzing to get into the hotel was not an inconvenience, and although our room faced a busy street, it wasn't too loud. Breakfast was delicious, and the hotel was very centrally located - only a couple blocks to the metro station. I highly recommend this place for a comfortable yet reasonable hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tilney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

It was our first experience of choosing a 3 star hotel and frankly speaking I was rather nervous for I am a very demanding customer. But from the very first moment we understood that we made the right choice.

We were warmly greeted by the lady at the reception who already knew our names and it was the fastest and the most comfortable check-in ever: "I know who you are, so I don't need either your passports or any confirmations, just let me show your room and I hope you'll enjoy your stay", - she said. And we enjoyed it.

The hotel gives you an impression of staying at your friends' - it is very cozy and homelike with this out-of-date furniture, double wooden window-frames, high ceilings and creaking wardrobe. The staff is so polite and kind and they try their best to make you feel comfortable - helping you when you need help, leaving you alone when you need rest. They try to avoid all the formalities and treat you like their own guest - it gives an incomparable personal touch only a boutique hotel can provide.

Our check-out was as fast as our check-in: we pre-paid ouy stay in advance and all we had to do is to give the key back and to express our gratitude for such a calm stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

A wonderful Arts and Crafts style hotel, that felt completely unspoilt. A refreshing change to the multi-national chains.

Amazing bedrooms and dining room (where breakfast is served.) It's like stepping back in time -- I expected to meet Christopher Isherwood on the stairs.

Good location, with some excellent restaurants in easy walking distance.

Very good for transportation links too. Lastly, would recommend one of the city walking tours. Fascinating, and a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvascreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Great hotel with lots of charm. Staff was friendly and very helpful! Rooms are quiet, but try to get a room near the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Room 22 was very clean, spacious, had a comfy bed and a large bathroom.

Only possible concerns were that is was a 10 minute walk from the train and there was some noise from the people that have apartments above the hotel although earplugs took care of that while sleeping. To be expected in a 100 year old building.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Art Nouveau
Hotel Art Nouveau
#302 of 634 in Berlin
143 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 634 in Berlin
474 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#39 of 634 in Berlin
666 reviews
Charlottenburg
Come Inn Berlin Kurfuerstendamm Opera
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askanischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askanischer Hof

Property: Askanischer Hof
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 53, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Askanischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Askanischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Askanischer Hof Berlin
Askanischer Hof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing