We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ranked #123 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

First time in Berlin hotel very nice would go back here again staff very nice and helpful train station within 5 Min's walk. Hotel rooms very nice but shower set up a bit strange tho it only bothered my wife. Room large and very clean slept with windows open no noise at all. The Hotel is in a very quiet small road by some open and dark land felt a bit uneasy at first but not unsafe. There are some bars and restaurants close by but they seemed a bit seedy. Hotel bar and restaurant nice but breakfast bit expensive at 19 euros.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    276
    92
    18
    5
See reviews for
34
274
37
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

No Air Conditioning, Threadbare sheets with holes, Poor Value for the Money, Not a 4 star quality hotel. Isolated location, Strange room set up, with open bathroom inside of the bedroom and overpriced. Do not stay here, there are many other fine choices in Berlin....I mistakenly thought that this was the Melia near the Spree River, which is a good hotel...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Really good hotel. Only 2 mins to the Ostbahnhof. Very clean, friendly staff and overall good value for money. Would stay again if I go back to Berlin

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here in June and overall we had a great experience with the hotel. The rooms are modern and spacious, however there is no air-con in the rooms so you need to leave the windows open to get any bit of air into the rooms. As the weather was very warm while we were in Berlin (24C-30C) we left the windows open all day and all night!

Location wise, the hotel is very conveniently located to Osbahnhof station (about 2 minute walk). This station is on the train line from the airport and only 1 stop away from the main train station (where you can get trains to Reichstag, Zoo, etc). It took us a few minutes to find the hotel when we got to the train station because the hotel is not on a main street. The area itself seemed safe and was very quiet.

The breakfast was good, plenty of choice and plenty of food. The breakfast room is quite small given the size of the hotel though.

There is a large garden with tables and chairs for guests to use. The bar is very expensive but I guess that's standard for all hotel bars!

There is a Lidl and numerous other shops located in the train station.

The only complaint we had about the hotel was that we requested a double room when booking and when we arrived we were booked into a twin room. We mentioned this to the person who checked us in and he said that our booking had come through on their system as a twin room and there were no double rooms available for the duration of our stay so we couldn't be moved. However, the next morning we mentioned to a lady at reception that we were booked in a twin room but had requested a double. She checked our booking on their system and said we should have been booked into a double room and changed rooms for us straight away!

Overall we realy enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinnywinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Positives
- Really close to a train station (Ostbahnhof). 3 min walk.
- Very big room. We had room 204 and there was at least 1-2 meters of space all around the bed
- Very quiet room. Our room faced onto the large internal courtyard. We slept with the windows open on a Saturday night and it was completely silent.
- Very, very clean rooms. I could find no mould, dust or stains (and I looked!)
- A desktop computer with Internet access in the hotel's office is available free of charge to guests. 
- The staff are very helpful. I rang down to the restaurant/reception quite a few times during our stay to request things like additional pillows, bowls, tea cups, hot water to make tea etc. The staff were very nice and had the items to us in the room within 5 - 10 minutes. 

Negatives
- The hotel has no free wireless. Some rooms (not all) have access to the T-Mobile hotspot network which costs around €5 per hour. I did know this when I booked the hotel - but if they did have free wireless it would have made our lives a little easier.
- The hotel isn't in an area with restaurants, bars, shops etc. The train station is very close (which has the usual fast food venues and a supermarket). The hotel seems to be in an area with homes and offices. I prefer to stay in a hotel that's within a 5 min walk of restaurants, cafes and shopping. The neatest cafe strip is apparently Boxhagener Platz which was 1.5 - 2km away. We didn't go there.
- The bathroom does not have a door and the shower is a clear cylinder in the room. There is no privacy. This was no problem for us...but might be VERY awkward for some guests.
- Irons are not available in the rooms. My husband had to go downstairs into a room where an iron and ironing board could be used. He said it had something to do with fire safety standards...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#105 of 634 in Berlin
134 reviews
Friedrichshain
InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Address: Lange Strasse 31, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Innside Premium Hotels Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#121 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#126 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof - right next to the Ostbahnhof and the East Side Gallery! The central location in the capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all areas of Berlin can be reached quickly and easily. The hotel enjoys a historic façade. It is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a historic building. You can also benefit a leafy courtyard, meeting rooms and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innside Premium Hotels Berlin Hotel Berlin
Innside Premium Hotel Berlin
Sol Melia Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing