We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, you get what you pay for”
Review of Berliner Hof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berliner Hof Hotel
Ranked #157 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good location, you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

After the initial chock of the poor quality of the room, I warmed up to the hotel. I had expected better quality but I guess in relation to the price it’s what you get. I had booked a single studio room, none smoking. The room was on the fifth floor and had a nice view. I'm pretty sure there had been smoking in the room before and as other hotels in Berlin, they try to hide it with some horrible sweet smelly spray. You can smell this throughout the hotel corridors and rooms. Part from the smell, the room was ok but don’t expect anything more than ok. It was clean except for the shower curtain which could use a wash. As reading other reviews about unfriendly staff I didn’t notice this but I didn’t have much interaction with them. I didn’t order the breakfast, I found the price too high and I had a quick look in the breakfast area and it didn’t look like it's worth it. I agree with previous reviews about a s a lovely bakery just down the street and you always have KadeWe which is good for food. The location of the hotel is great. You are close to u-bahn and s-bahn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    276
    108
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
158
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

All ok except I booked a family room, but because I ACCIDENTALLY also clicked on 2 people instead of 3 on the booking website, I was given a double room with an extra cot bed at an extra charge of 35 Euro a night! The receptionist (Julian) only had to focus on one part of the booking to find an excuse to make my booking difficult. He COULD have paid attention to the part where i said "Family Room" but instead he ONLY acknowledged the number of people! I had also had an extensive email conversation prior to my booking with one of the reservation team who recommended I book a family room for 3 adults. Despite evidence of this Julian just smirked at me and charged me the money for the extra bed in a double room. Totally unfair and just pedantic. Despite the hotel being reasonably priced in a central location, I would NOT recommend the Berliner Hof based on this ridiculous and illogical treatment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelbraun, Manager at Berliner Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest

We are very sorry, that you had the impression of being treated very rudely.

We understand that mistakes with online reservations can happen, especially with the all the different websites and booking procedures available. We apply the same policies to all booking channels, online and offline. Julian applied those policies. Our team is trained to high levels of service quality and your issue will be discussed with the whole front desk team.

Kids and Families are very welcome at the Berliner Hof Hotel. Children up to the age of 16 will be accommodated in the parents' room free of charge, additional adults will be charged 35€ per person per night. Children also get our breakfast buffet for free, if accompanied by one full paying adult.

The Family rooms can accommodate up to five guests. These rooms are equipped with a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.

Best Regards

Anja Honzal
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel Nov 27th -02 Dec. My room was on 5th floor and I could not fault it. it was large clean and warm. the hotel staff were very helpful and friendley The hotel is in a great location and short walk from Zoo Garten train station. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

hotel was clean and very nice. terrific location. reasonable prices. front desk was pleasant and helpful, also spoke good english

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here in October for a work conference, and asides from a good location (main street near the subway), this ‘hotel’ can only be described as horrific. Entrance into the hotel is under a shop doorway and smells of urine, the rooms are unbelievably awful – I think I had blood stains on my carpet. The rooms are large, and the sheets seemed clean, however the room itself hasn’t be touched since the 80’s, and the carpets haven’t been cleaned. The walls were covered in suspect stains, the carpet – I’ve mentioned, and the bathroom – well, good luck. It reminded me of the room for Saw I.

The reception staff are below standard too. Difficult, unqualified and unhelpful.

For the price you pay - +100 euros – you’re better off staying at the Mark Apart apartments which are a 10 minute walk away.

Avoid like the plague if you cannot handle to slum it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Clairege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelbraun, Manager at Berliner Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept our apologies for not being able to meet your requirements this time.

The Berliner Hof Hotel had gone through an extensive renovation in 2009.

We are also currently shampooing all carpets in all rooms with a special method to ensure utmost cleanliness.

We have very high service standards and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We are constantly training our staff to guarantee best possible service.

Our room rates start as low as 55€ per night and vary depending on high seasons. We are confident about our value for money. Please contact our reservations department for our best available rate.

Kind Regards

Anja Honzal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#269 of 634 in Berlin
290 reviews
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#135 of 634 in Berlin
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#117 of 634 in Berlin
932 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berliner Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berliner Hof Hotel

Property: Berliner Hof Hotel
Address: Tauentzienstr. 8, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Berliner Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at the hotel Berliner Hof, situated barely a stone's throw from the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, reside in the heart of West Berlin, the perfect starting point for discovering the pulsating capital at first hand. Five minutes from the Berlin-Zoo train station and only a few paces away from the Memorial Church and the KaDeWe department store, the central location offers a host of opportunities for strolling, sight-seeing, shopping and dining. Thanks to the excellent public transport connections and its open and family friendly atmosphere, the Berliner Hof is particularly popular among city tourists and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berliner Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berliner Hof Hotel Berlin
Berliner Hof Am Tauentzien Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing