We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Traditional German Meal ”
Review of Dicke Wirtin

Dicke Wirtin
Ranked #143 of 9,744 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf (Borough)
Description: Welcome ... in our typical Berliner restauraDICKE WIRTIN in a comfortable atmosphere directly in the Berlin City-West. Located on Savignyplatz in Charlottenburg, the DICKE WIRTIN (Fat Landlady) has been a Berlin institution for decades and a student stronghold since the heady days of the 1960's demonstrations. The clientele is a mix of students and locals who come here to dig into hearty portions of traditional german homemade dishes. 9 different beers on tap & more than 30 in-house brandies & liqueurs. Have a pleasant stay !
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went for our final meal in Berlin here, following a recommendation from the concierge at our hotel, and we were so glad we did.

The food was amazing, great traditional hearty German food. Everything on the menu appeared to be homemade, including the pate I had to start which was incredible.

The atmosphere is perfect for couples and groups, nice and cosy, with loads of interesting German memorabilia on the walls giving it a very intriguing vibe.

Our waiter was hilarious, spoke excellent English, with our little known German putting us to shame. He had great banter when we found out he supported Liverpool FC and I support Everton and my boyfriend supports Man United - could have been awkward but turned out to be really funny. All the staff made a great effort to chat with you and make you feel welcome!

It was the perfect way to end our little trip to Berlin, and I would recommend to anyone who wants to try proper German food. The one thing I will say is to book though, as it seems to get pretty much fully booked every night!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank RachCMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 342 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

These guys serve excellent food that is authentic german cuisine, they speak english and have a joke with you, the atmosphere is awesome, locals eat here.

The secret is out, this place is awesome.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Just what we were looking for, a cosy pub full of character. Hardy and tasty local pub food and a great selection of beer. Hit the spot.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank avrilmckay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stumbled in here after a long day of touring Berlin, hoping for traditional German food & we couldn't have been more delighted. Everything was delicious, huge portions & friendly staff. We liked it so well, we ate there two nights in a row.
On both nights they were very busy, both nights there were reserved tables & both nights the staff sized us up as Americans, gave us he table knowing we'd eat, pay & leave rather quickly, leaving the table still reserved for whoever was expected later. We were so grateful for the accommodation. I'd go back to Berlin just to eat there.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank chefgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We fancied an authentic meal while staying in Charlottenburg, Berlin on a short break in Jan 2017... we couldn't have picked a better place! It's very busy with locals and has an authentic welcoming Berlin atmosphere to it, local beers and hospitable staff who can speak English well enough to help you get by!

Food is simple traditional stuff be very tasty and filling... beware, portions are more than generous, maybe don't have staters and a main like us, or you may end up in a food coma!!! The schnitzel my partner had as a main was hanging over both edges of the plate!

Would highly recommend if you want to sample traditional Berlin, we were only there 4 days but had to go back again for more!

Gets very busy though, and the booking system seems a little chaotic, you have to pop in in person or phone to reserve but well worth the hassle.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank NealR899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dicke Wirtin also viewed

 

Been to Dicke Wirtin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing