We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Circus Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$228
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$86
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$123
US$110
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$64
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$188
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$121
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$152
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,693)
Filter reviews
2,693 results
Traveller rating
2,027
561
88
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,027
561
88
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosenthaler platzfabisch restaurantgreat hoteljunior suitehonesty barrooftop terracewalking touru bahn stationno air conbuffet breakfastfacing the streetlight sleeperpublic transportgreat showereast berlinloved this hotelthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,418 - 1,423 of 2,693 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Loved this place.
Booked this hotel following trip advisor comments and was glad I did.
Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are bright and funky, each one individual.
Nice bar to have a drink, some good singers on when we where there.
Great location, next to an underground station. There was a good jazz bar a short walk away
Would go back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckyduck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As many other reviews have said this hotel benefits from a good location and with great service.

The postives:
Location at Rosenthaler platz- close enough to the main sights without being on top of them. 15-20 mins leisurely stroll to the Berliner Dom and Museum Island or about 5 mins on the U bahn. Lots of nice bars and restaurants nearby.
Great staff- happy to help with directions, ideas for places to visits, restaurants and bars. Really the best thing about the place. Word perfect english and really puts us to shame.
Restaurant- really good food for breakfast, option of buffet or other hot food but both really nice. We ate dinner on the first night and again it was pretty tasty and reasonable.
General atmosphere- im not sure how to describe it but there really was a nice laid back atmosphere to the whole place. I guess the modern room decor helps promote this but we both really enojoyed the bar/ restaurant area which was a great place for a drink or even just to relax and borrow the ipad to surf the net. Good music being played, plenty to read or even a bit of live music at the weekend.

The negatives:
No tea/ coffee making facilities- i know they encourage people to drink tea of coffee downstairs in the bar but it did annoy me not being able to have a cup of tea in the morning/ evening in my actual room.
Noise- not external noise as that was well insultated but for some reason the acoustics meant the shutting of other room doors in out corridor seemed to reverberate through our room which was quite off putting at night.
Shower door- the bathroom themselves were really nice but our shower door kept opening, meaning the floor got a bit wet.

Overall this was a great place, more personal than a large hotel chain, but still offering the majority of facilities and location that you want on a city break. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at The Circus Hotel, Berlin, four nights from 2/4/12. Right next to the Underground, so getting around was easy. Great location in Prenzlauer Berg. The Staff are quite amazing; very friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. This hotel is a well-oiled machine. Everything works a treat. Clean tidy room, serviced each day. Good bar with a range of food from breakfast to dinner. Go here and expect a warm welcome and help with any thing you need, like getting around the city. The Hotel does everything for customers. Really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want to book a room facing the courtyard. If you are facing Rosenthaler the trams can be a bit loud.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirthdayBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Circus Hotel is in a great location - only yards from an underground station and close to plenty of bars and restaurants. When we arrived only one of the rooms we had booked was ready but the staff we very polite and helpful and were happy to look after our luggage. The rooms we had were spacious (we booked jnior suites for only an extra €20 per night - well worth it) and really nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was roomy and powerful. We paid for breakfast, which was only €8 each and you could have as much as you wanted from the buffet. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were all warm, friendly and always there to help. If I visit Berlin again I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite rather than a standard room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Right on a tube stop so easy to get to and from. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room after a little wait even though we had arrived a couple of hours early. We booked an economy double with a queen size bed at €80 a night which was comfortable and looked out onto Rosenthaler Platz.. The ensuite was a great size with a modern power shower.
We chose to eat breakfast every morning as it was everything you would want....except the full english!!!
I only have a couple of complaints: 1) There is no air conditioning. Which was fine for us at the end of March but I can imagine that in the summer it would be very warm in the room. Due to its location you cannot keep your windows open at night. My second complaint is more like a word of warning. The size of the room is small. This was not a problem for us but those who are are a little heavier, they might find the space around the bed a little tight (although we did have the economy room).
This in no way affected our stay. We would recommend this hotel in an instant and would definately stay here again should we want to stay in Berlin again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmar1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews