We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Three of us stayed here over Easter. The location is very central, close to Hackesche Höfe and Oranienburger Strasse with great restaurants and bars nearby. The breakfast was particularly good with lots of fresh fruit and wholemeal bread. The only reason I did not give The Circus the top five dot rating is due to sleep quality. Our room was on the first floor overlooking Rosenthaler Platz. Although the windows are very modern and well sound proofed, the trams going round the corner produce a low grinding noise that propagates through the walls. My son's room was on the top floor overlooking the courtyard at the back. He had none of these problems and slept blissfully.
Despite this slightly negative point, we really enjoyed staying at The Circus. The hotel decor is really pleasing and verything feels new and well cared for. The service was very detail oriented and friendly. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Berlin.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building to avoid noise from Rosenthaler platz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissBrit-1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    535
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,425
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Loved this place.
Booked this hotel following trip advisor comments and was glad I did.
Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are bright and funky, each one individual.
Nice bar to have a drink, some good singers on when we where there.
Great location, next to an underground station. There was a good jazz bar a short walk away
Would go back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyduck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As many other reviews have said this hotel benefits from a good location and with great service.

The postives:
Location at Rosenthaler platz- close enough to the main sights without being on top of them. 15-20 mins leisurely stroll to the Berliner Dom and Museum Island or about 5 mins on the U bahn. Lots of nice bars and restaurants nearby.
Great staff- happy to help with directions, ideas for places to visits, restaurants and bars. Really the best thing about the place. Word perfect english and really puts us to shame.
Restaurant- really good food for breakfast, option of buffet or other hot food but both really nice. We ate dinner on the first night and again it was pretty tasty and reasonable.
General atmosphere- im not sure how to describe it but there really was a nice laid back atmosphere to the whole place. I guess the modern room decor helps promote this but we both really enojoyed the bar/ restaurant area which was a great place for a drink or even just to relax and borrow the ipad to surf the net. Good music being played, plenty to read or even a bit of live music at the weekend.

The negatives:
No tea/ coffee making facilities- i know they encourage people to drink tea of coffee downstairs in the bar but it did annoy me not being able to have a cup of tea in the morning/ evening in my actual room.
Noise- not external noise as that was well insultated but for some reason the acoustics meant the shutting of other room doors in out corridor seemed to reverberate through our room which was quite off putting at night.
Shower door- the bathroom themselves were really nice but our shower door kept opening, meaning the floor got a bit wet.

Overall this was a great place, more personal than a large hotel chain, but still offering the majority of facilities and location that you want on a city break. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at The Circus Hotel, Berlin, four nights from 2/4/12. Right next to the Underground, so getting around was easy. Great location in Prenzlauer Berg. The Staff are quite amazing; very friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. This hotel is a well-oiled machine. Everything works a treat. Clean tidy room, serviced each day. Good bar with a range of food from breakfast to dinner. Go here and expect a warm welcome and help with any thing you need, like getting around the city. The Hotel does everything for customers. Really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want to book a room facing the courtyard. If you are facing Ros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirthdayBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Circus Hotel is in a great location - only yards from an underground station and close to plenty of bars and restaurants. When we arrived only one of the rooms we had booked was ready but the staff we very polite and helpful and were happy to look after our luggage. The rooms we had were spacious (we booked jnior suites for only an extra €20 per night - well worth it) and really nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was roomy and powerful. We paid for breakfast, which was only €8 each and you could have as much as you wanted from the buffet. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were all warm, friendly and always there to help. If I visit Berlin again I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite rather than a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,793 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,207 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
977 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing