We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For something a little different....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Co Kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For something a little different....”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Really lovely, quirky hotel. International staff very friendly and helpful re: tourist advice. €8 buffet breakfast excellent - sorts you for the day!!!! Only problem was difficulty re: booking - selected room for 2 on website. When it came up as a double, I rang to clarify that I required a twin room. I was told this was fine. However on arrival, we were told there was only a twin available for 2 nights. We eventually got the twin for all 3 nights, so all's well..... Please Make sure this is clarified on the web site!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you clarify exactly the room you want - by e-mail. KEEP A COPY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    520
    82
    9
    3
See reviews for
275
1,395
182
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel was good,right next to a U station and close to all the main attractions. The rooms were basic but spacious and very clean. The staff here were excellent and on hand to advise on places to visit and recommendations. We ate at Fabisch for breakfast which provided an excellent healthy choice for 8 euros and we also ate there one evening after a long day sightseeing. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it's staff if you are looking for a well located place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for a weekend in February 2012 with a group of 6 adults. (3 couples ) We were quite happy with the hotel , despite a few smaller issues. I had booked the rooms and had specified three Double rooms ans the Double economy are quite small with the beds against the wall. I also verified on check-in that we were all getting those rooms. However one of the rooms provided was a Double eonomy - my friend went to reception to ask about this and was quickly given another room - but really why should you have to do this? The bart didn't stay open very late & we would have liked a night cap on returning ion the cold to the hotel at night before retiring. ~ I also feel that the breakfast buffet at €8 was quite nice. But was disappopinted that the hot breakfast was not included with this - and one of us bought the seperate scramble eggs for €4 - we ate elsewhere the other mornings.
Despite the cold weather the heating was great and we were lovley & warm. In general I liked the decor of the hotel (except the crazy picture in our room - but that lent itself for much discussion and laughter.)
The location is great - Ubann right outside the door & a quick walk to many things,. Plenty of bars & restaurants in the area too.
Would stay there again.,

Room Tip: We got rooms looking onto the courtyard - not much view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Excellent philosophy
Extraordinary customer service
Delicious breakfast ... So worth paying for!
I will be back ;-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just spent a freezing but fun filled weekend in Berlin, staying at the Circus Hitel. Thanks to Tripadvisor we choose the Circus based on positive reviews re location, thankfully they weren't lying. A transport strike meant we had to explore the city by foot. The Circus Hotel is superbly located within walking distance of most if Berlin's major sights.
The Hotel is very cosy, cafe attached is fantastic-buffet breakfast is well worth paying €8 for.
Interior room would be worth requesting, street can be a little noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,592 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
928 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing