We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central Berlin for independent traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #151 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We spent a long weekend to enjoy Christmas markets in Berlin. This hotel was rewarded by the good location and we can nothing but confirm. 2 minutes from subway stations, nearby the one of the best Christmas markets in Berlin, the location is good. Everything worked out as it should, rooms are silent and breakfast (with additional charge) is excellent. The deco is very minimalistic and plain, and the hotel lobby is very small and with limited capacity in seats, bar offering etc, but all the bars, cafe's etc are just around the corners. At least our hobby is not to hang out in hotel lobby while on vacation. Can recommend for weekends and other type of short holidays. More than 3 nights might give a bit tight feeling because of the small size of room.

Room Tip: Even the street side rooms were quiet enough, so I would focus to get a room with separate bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordic_traveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found Berlin to be great value and this perfectly located hotel was no exception. Very clean, modern and spacious with excellent, no-fuss service.

Handy to metro and walking distance to many sights and good upmarket shopping around Gendarmenmarkt.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I booked this hotel for my boss and it looked just fine, but the room they put him in was horrible. Travelling alone is no reason to put someone in the smallest room they could find.. The location is wonderful though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjoerdsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Sjoerdsma

thank you very much for having taken the time to review our WINTERS Hotel Berlin am Gendarmenmarkt.
We do appreciate your comment about the location which you found great. However, regarding the size of the room we are sorry that it did not fullfil the expectations of your boss. We have various roomsizes from 15 sqm to 38 sqm at different roomrates .
The smallest rooms enable to us to keep those room rates at a very affordable level.
However, we would be pleased to host you again and do make sure to ask for a larger room for his next stay.

Thank you very much again for your business at this or any other WINTERS Hotel in Berlin
best regards

Heike Floeter Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We picked the winters because of price and location, because our main reason was to spend time in the city. It is not a Hotel to spend time in the hotel, except sleep (but you need a room with backyard view because of noise. Room very good, clean, service nice and friendly, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for 6 days. Location is ideal for museum island, checkpoint Charlie, and all the major sights. It's two mins walk to u bahn Stadmitte for travelling further out. Hotel staff were nice, the room was clean, tidy and quiet. Fresh towels were provided daily. Breakfast buffet was included in our deal, and there was a wide selection of food to choose from. The next street up is great for shopping, and there are lots of cafe's and eateries nearby on this street, and adjoining streets. The Gendarmenmarkt is also nearby, and is one of the nicest and most scenic squares in Berlin. The area itself is upmarket and feels very safe at night. So for all of these reasons, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the central courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uma81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#516 of 635 in Berlin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#82 of 635 in Berlin
1,885 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
#179 of 635 in Berlin
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstr. 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#167 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: €61 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere is the idea of "centre" more versatile than in Berlin. Around the Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, history and future create an international everyday lifestyle. A place where magnificent historic buildings and boulevards, religious and national landmarks, monumental palaces, culture and major visionary architectural projects meet. All functionally designed 134 guestrooms in different categories are equiped with Flatscreec-TVs, air condition and complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers a various breakfast buffet in the stylish breakfast restaurant which offers a great view to the pulsating Leipziger Strasse through its panorama windows. Attractions as Checkpoint Charlie, the elegant shopping street Friedrichstrasse or Boulevard Unter den Linden are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Berlin Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing