We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good for a hotel dining room”

Midtown Grill Berlin
Ranked #281 of 9,114 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Experience the superior quality of a traditional American steak house with a modern design. Let our team set the stage and show you the true meaning of “Great steaks, chops and seafood”!
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Although we normally avoid hotel dining rooms, we received a gift certificate which covered about half the cost of dinner. The rack of lamb and veal chop we had (locally sourced) were exceptionally good. The sides were good, but a bit peculiar -- we were served bbq beef (pulled pork?) along with bread which was strange tasting to someone used to Memphis-style bbq which I think it was trying to emulate. The service was for the most part excellent, though there were occasional lapses. There were lots of choices on the menu. The prices were very high even for a hotel restauraunt. There seemed to be crowds during meal time which included folks beyond hotel guests so I suspect it has a strong local following.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Midtown Grill Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear William B,

Thank you very much for your review and rating us 5 points.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated our food and service.

I hope to have you back here soon,
best wishes

Veronica Wagner
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

I had breakfast there every morning and it really good, a lot of options and very tasty. The services was very good too.

Thank thetravelerpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on our last night in Berlin, and to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary.

The service was warm and friendly, and our waiter was in good spirits despite having to split his time between us and a rude an arrogant American customer who was complaining about absolutely everything. A massive thank you and we'll done to our waiter, the rest of the team and the chefs who all kept their cool despite this guy.

As for the food, it was absolutely amazing. Freshly cut steaks to order, perfectly cooked in the open kitchen and a good selection of side dishes and sauces. You won't go wrong if you eat here.

Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We always stay in the Marriott when in Berlin, and generally eat at the Midtown Grill on the first evening as 1) it's in the hotel and convenient, and 2) it's very good.

We were therefore slightly disappointed this time to find that there seemed to be fewer staff, and the ones there were didn't seem to be very well trained. Food was 'plonked' on the table as fast as possible, no comment or explaination. The bread came with a delicious chutney and pulled beef, but neither were pointed out to us - previously we've had a meticuous explaination of the accompaniments.

The starters were delicious (I had duck liver, my wife had soft shelled crab), but the steaks were not up to the normal standard. Whilst both were cooked rare as requested, mine was poorly trimmed with the result of a blob of uncooked fat and gristle left. The side of mac and cheese was poorly cooked - the cheese sauce tasted of uncooked flour in the roux.

Pleased to see the usual post meal special was still present (no spoilers, you'll have to try it) but again it was just dumped on the table as the waiter was passing.

Disappointing, especilly for a favourite - and it is not cheap - so not what you would expect. May have to find an alternative for our next trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Midtown Grill Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Simon H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. After reading it I can fully understand that you were disappointed about neither our service nor the quality of the meat meeting your expectations. Especially because you seem to know, that we can do far better.
I would like to deeply apologize for this experience.

I hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are still able to meet your expectations. We don't want to loose you as a loyal guest.

Best wishes

Veronica Wagner
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We started by having starters, the Steak Tartare and Tuna Carpaccio. In both of the dishes the food were ice cold like straight out of the fridge and the taste were just ok. Then we both ordered steaks, they were soft but the tasted was bland and bit boring to say the least.The sides came in big portions and were ok and the service was just fine.
So the best steaks in town like someone says tn their revive, not true.

Thank Guðrún T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midtown Grill Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Grill Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing