We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bite of Home”
Review of Sam Kullmans Diner

Sam Kullmans Diner
Ranked #96 of 460 Restaurants in Regensburg
Price range: US$0 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This place was really decked out for the holidays and for American vibes in general. They are clearly trying hard and I'd say they're doing a good job. I was feeling a bit homesick, and this diner helped mitigate that sentiment. They even have cute diner signs with English and German in smaller font underneath. Their playlist is catered to the space, the Christmas lights were fun, and the menu is fairly extensive. I ordered a bigger and CURLY fries. It was very satisfying!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamKullman, Marketing at Sam Kullmans Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Eve L., thanks for your good feedback! We are happy that you feel so comfortable and almost like home in Sam Kullman’s Diner. We would love to welcome you again soon!
Your Kullman’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

Staying overnight in Regensburg, needed some meat so chose Sam's American Diner.
Big quality burgers in 3 sizes, superb steaks, mains and sides all excellent. Service great

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ocam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamKullman, Marketing at Sam Kullmans Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Ocam R., thank you very much for your great feedback! We are happy that you like our burgers, steaks and the service. You are welcome anytime!
Your Kullman’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The Kids Menu cheeseburger was terrible; I'm not even sure it was real beef. Thin patty was gray ... disappointing.
Ordered the Pulled Pork Double Sandwich; two buns with pulled pork and onions. Pork was tasty but there was barely any on each bun. Almost more raw red onions as pork. Coleslaw dish was so small and my sweet potato fries (which were an upsell item) were super cold.
They advertise these tasty French fry seasonings but the only flavors in the table (and the one beside us) was Honey BBQ.
When we finished eating we Sat with dirty plates in our table for 15 minutes while wait staff walked past.

Go for a milkshake but don't eat the food. Disappointed for the price.

Thank mabellejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamKullman, Marketing at Sam Kullmans Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear guest, we are very sorry that our food and service were not satisfying for you. We will talk about your criticism with our kitchen and service team in order to reflect and continuously improve ourselves. But we can ensure you that we only use high quality products for our dishes, so the patty was of course real beef. We hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that we can do better!
Your Kullman’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

When we asked some friends who were already eating there, "What's good?" The response was, "It's an American diner, everything is good." Our experience was exactly that. Had the patty melt and the chicken wings. The wings were especially good as they were fried to a perfect crisp. A side garden salad with the house dressing was also fresh. Overall it was a good departure from all the schnitzels and sausages we had been having. Service was a bit slow, most likely due to a sudden influx of customers all at once. Our waitress was friendly and sweet--most likely a student from the nearby university.

Thank Classybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamKullman, Marketing at Sam Kullmans Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear guest, thanks for your good feedback! We are happy that you liked our food and service. You are welcome anytime to enjoy our diner ambience again!
Your Kullman’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I really like these German American styled restaurants. They always seem to do a good job at imitating the food. But most of the time it tastes better than your actual restaurants in the states. The ribs claimed to be fall of the bone, but they weren't. Also, my boyfriend complained that his burger was dry. We think it's because my ribs finished after his burger and while my ribs were still being prepared; His burger was placed somewhere in a warmer. Which caused it to dry out. Even with those few setbacks the food was still tasty. With that being said, I would recommend other burger restaurants over this one. But If someone never ate there before, he or she should try it for the ambience.

Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamKullman, Marketing at Sam Kullmans Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Christopher B., thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry that your food were not served in perfect conditions. This is not the standard we aim for. Of course we will discuss this issue with our kitchen team. We hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that we can do better.
Your Kullman’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Kullmans Diner also viewed

Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Sam Kullmans Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing