We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cosy on dark November days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residenz Passau
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I support these good reviews. I left yesterday after three nights.

My large room at the back (they call it "Cityside") was very quiet.

The public room on the ground floor is a fine place to sit and has many books.

The hotel is run with a meticulous eye for nice detail.

The Boss and staff are willing and helpful.

Room Tip: Summer might be noisy at the front from the river excursion traffic. Rooms at back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRORegensburg_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear NRORegensburg_,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. And your comments ref. our view for details are very encouraging to follow this way in future.
It would be nice to see you again here in Passau , maybe together with your wife, when she is back from her long journey.

Best regards from the whole team of Hotel Residenz Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is very well located at the center of town. Is back door leads to the typical and picturesque small streets of Passau.
We were given the suite at a very reasonable price. It was large with two bathrooms and a nice balcony although to be shared with another room. The room was silent and spotless and all the staff have been very friendly and helpful in giving us the information we needed.
A nice and tasteful breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and even salmon completed a very pleasant experience at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear bassodonte,
Thank you very much for your exellent review about our hotel here in Passau. We are very happy that you liked your stay, and that we could help you and your family to have a nice stay in our beautiful city. Maybe you will find a chance to return to Passau in a bit warmer season (though: We had an extraordinary warm November). Then take the Junior-Suite, with it's private roof-deck and it's fabulous view across the Old Town up to St.Stephen's Cathedral.

With best regards from the team of Hotel Residenz Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a great hotel and the reviews on Trip Advisor were accurate. The location is brilliant as it is right on the Danube River, very close to the Tourist Information, on the edge of the Old Town and next to a fantastic restaurant. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, quiet and well set out. We got a corner room with views of the Danube River and it was great. Breakfast at the hotel was one of the best we've had on our travels. Each morning at the breakfast table there is a printed flyer with what is on in the town which we thought was a very thoughtful touch. Even though it doesn't have a restaurant for other meals it is very close to lots of restaurants and cafes and next door to a great restaurant "The Blue Danube". The hotel proudly displays its Trip Advisor Award in the reception. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra dollar to have a view of the Danube River and watch the river traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this great hotel. The location is perfect with river views. It is down by the river so it is a steep walk up to the main town and the magnificent Cathedral. There are organ recitals at midday from the cathedral organ (largest church pipe organ in Europe). The rooms are large with the usual European sized bathrooms. Breakfast is included and is huge with excellent waiter staff who just keep the food coming. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. There are several excellent cafes for dinner it the little streets behind the hotel. There were no faults we could find about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a front room that overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peters0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I spent three nights at the Hotel Residenz recently and I was very impressed with the hotel. Firstly, the staff were wonderful. The reception desk staff were helpful and friendly and I found the breakfast personnel a delight, particularly after several days there. The breakfast buffet was a very good one, with lots of choice and considerable space to eat. I had a room on the top floor that looked out onto the Veste Oberhaus, the Danube, and the town hall. It does have a shared balcony but no one visited during my stay. I imagine in summer it might be a popular spot for a cold drink but not on cooler autumn nights. The room itself (404) was a good size, the bed was comfortable, all the required provisions were there. There was a welcoming fruit basket and note, which was very considerate. The bathroom was modern with radio and special wall controls for the shower, which included coloured lights! Quite entertaining, but a wonderful experience. The only negative thing was the towels - a bit bigger and fluffier would have been nice - but that's really being a bit pedantic! As for other key decision factors - Well, the location was perfect! A short walk to the Rathaus and Dom, with the tourist information only a few steps away. They have a good brochure on restaurant recommendations around the area and each day at breakfast they provide a summary on everything from the weather to siteseeing options for the day (note only in German) Also, I read a review on Trip Advisor about Wifi - please note the hotel provides free Wifi - just ask at the front desk for your code. The brochure in the room probably just needs updating. I've tried to cover as many things as possible here. Would I recommend the hotel. Absolutely! It ticks all the right boxes....and then some!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJMcDiarmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear RachaelMc,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you have still nice memory on your days in Passau (Maybe the next time you reward yourself after hard working, you will choose our house again. We think about changing our towels to offer more voluminous, bigger, and fluffier).
Thank you for the hint about the WiFi-Instructions. Obviously we have forgotten to update our guest-informations in room 404. This is now done.
One thing we have to correct in your review: The balcony in our junior-suite (room 404) is not a shared balcony, it is a private roof terrace for that room. The (emergency)door to the corridor is locked, and only sometimes somebody of the staff has to open this door, as the flowers on the balcony need water. If they have forgotten to lock the door again - sorry about this, but you can be sure, in summer this balcony is only used by the guests of the room.
Thank you very much again, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.5 km away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
140 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
249 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#8 of 24 in Passau
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#5 of 24 in Passau
135 reviews
1.0 km away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenz Passau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Passau

Address: Fritz-Schaffer-Promenade 6, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: €75 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Passau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Residenz Passau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing