We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular, but ok”
Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Ranked #166 of 4,165 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A traditional institution at Max-Joseph-Platz, in perfect harmony with the Bavarian National Theatre, Residence and Palais an der Oper. The Munich citizen goes to Spatenhaus with his family, and he invites his business partners to our restaurant, for special events. On the ground floor our restaurant leaves a down-to-earth impression, the four rooms on the top floor are more elegant. The restaurant stands for exclusive hospitality and exquisite traditional German cuisine. Old Bavarian dishes enrich the menu card on the ground floor. On the top floor the kitchen crew offers its guests a more differentiated menu, taking individual requirements into account. Exquisite fish cuisine, classic dishes of Bavarian and Austrian cuisine supplement each other, thus catering perfectly for all tastes. If the weather is dry, the terrace on the Residenzstrasse fills rapidly and is a truly wonderful location to experience typical Munich culture until late at night.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Came here with a friend and we had a mixed experience. The service was very nice, professional, and efficient. As an appetizer we shared the roastbeef and it was incerdible, i would give it 5 points. As main courses, we had the Kalbsfleischpflanzerl and the Wiener Schnitzel. The Fleischpflanzerl were nice, but the Wiener Schnitzel was disappointing, so all in all, also considering the prices, just average.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimF585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Oh - what was wrong with the Schnitzel? People come from far away to order the veal schnitzel in our restaurant. We are very sorry for what may have gone wrong with the dish!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Good German food with some Italian additions that we liked. Beautifully decorated in a Bavarian style. The service was also good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 833jurgenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant for our first dining experience of authentic German cuisine whilst in Munich. Nestled in a corner of Munich's exclusive shopping district, this restaurant had the delightful nostalgic aura of old Bavaria. Staff was helpful and food so good, that we sampled German cuisine everyday for the remainder of the trip after our experience in this restaurant. I would recommend the Pork Knuckle for anyone who wishes to enjoy one of Bavaria's signature dishes, which is prepared in this restaurant to be both succulent and excellently flavoured!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ShavindraS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you very much for your very kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The menu has every Bavarian/German cliché you're after and it tastes good. Very fast and attentive waiters. Nice interior in traditional style. Great location, in the middle of the Old Town - overlooking the National Theatre, with Maximilianstraße in front and Marienplatz on the right, within walking distance of sightseeing hotspots. Also has a massive outdoor area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank VikaVolk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We love your service and your price that in menu

Clients of our agency (Anna&Layla Tavel) thank you very much

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annaandlaylatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

WE are the ones that need to thank YOU for seeing - and kindly recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing