We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional Bavarian hotel with a personal feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freisinger Hof Hotel
Ranked #153 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I've just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel where I was staying during a business trip. It was very different from the hotels I normally stay in for work as it had a really personal feel to it and the extra touches made it special. My room on the 1st floor was roomy and extremely clean but also comfortable. There were dressing-gowns laid out on the bed, a bowl of fresh fruit and chocolates on the pillows. The bathroom was well equipped with a shower and bath, including toiletries and (I was relieved to see) a hairdryer. Even better it wasn't one of those annoying hairdryers where you have to keep the button depressed continually - saving much finger ache! The staff dress in traditional Dirndls and the whole hotel is lovingly furnished so as to be quaint but not twee. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a huge choice ranging from breads, cheeses and salamis to yoghurts, cereals, eggs, crispy bacon and sausages. I ate in the adjacent restaurant for two nights and the food was very good - my only slight criticism is that there wasn't a huge choice of smaller main courses - but that is being picky.
Although the hotel may seem to be out of the city centre it's an easy 20 -25 minutes trip by bus to Marienplatz (the main square in Munich).
I really would recommend this hotel to people planning a trip either for business or pleasure. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the hotel rather than above the restaurant if given the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carras1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very good, very clean, almost new, and suitable for 1, 2 nights. Close to the park. The personnel send us to the room forgetting to program the key, that was a shock for me.
The greatest surprise was when I went with my son to the restaurant of the hotel, close to closing time at lunch, and they refused to serve us. Even for the room. Apparently they have lots of customers.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank N Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I was in this hotel for a team event.
the hotel is very very nice and its restaurant is very good.
Typical Bavarian food with good local beer.
the service in the hotel and restaurant were excellent.
rooms are spacious with all facilities needed.
wifi was good and stable.
parking is available.
breakfast was one of the amazing i have seen in recent years with a great options and course including fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamirbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I stayed for two nights in September. Oktoberfest was on and I was traveling for business. Most of the good standard hotels were full or ridiculously priced, so I was pleased to find vacancies at the Freisinger Hof.

The location is quite a distance from the city centre (a 30 minute tram ride), located in a quite suburban street. Being near the English Garden is nice, but for business I found it was a bit too far from where I needed to be.

The staff seemed quite friendly on arrival, and the whole place buys into the Bavarian heritage. My first impression of the room was that it was a bit of a let down for a hotel of this standard. It had everything I needed, but felt a bit drab. To be fair, the bathroom was good (with a good shower), tv and wifi worked, and there were fruit and chocolates in the room. Maybe it just needs a touch of decoration to make it a bit more inviting.

Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was a pleasure, with plenty of choice from the buffet.

Overall it is a fairly good hotel, but for some reason I just didn't fall for its charms.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed here for a conference and initally thought - in evenings, we'll miss all that Munich has to offer; how wrong we were ! Whether on business or pleasure one would be hard pressed to find a more 'European' experience. We had a junior suite that was smaller by US stds, but offered us enough room, with a very comfortable bed and whisper clean bathroom. The Nespresso coffee machine and a delivery of fresh fruit daily was a really nice touch. But what makes this place so memorable were the people, the location (next to the Englischer Garden with the Hotel offering free bike rentals) and quite comfort. We rented bikes and on one leasurely ride were down in Central Munich in 1 hour. And this was after a stop for lunch/beer at Hirschau (highly recommended.) And having traveled through a lot of Eurpe, the breakfast in simply something to behold. The offerings of individual items in a very warm, welcoming dinning area had to number 100+ - simply a remarkable effort by a very professional, knowledgeable staff. In summary - stay here. Yes you will get to experience the S Bahn and the Rail/Trolley to get out there, but you will not regret it.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Greg574Vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
11.1 km away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#272 of 390 in Munich
42 reviews
12.4 km away
Hotel Insel Muehle
Hotel Insel Muehle
#219 of 390 in Munich
99 reviews
10.7 km away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#282 of 390 in Munich
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
739 reviews
6.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.5 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freisinger Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freisinger Hof Hotel

Address: Oberfoehringer Str. 189-191, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: €138 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freisinger Hof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Freisinger Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing