We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
THE TENT Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed there during Oktoberfest, it was very busy, staff there were friendly, food and drinks at reasonable price, and tasted good too.

Shower was hot and very powerful, much needed especially when it was freezing at night! We opted for camping, there were just enough space for pitching tents, and you'd be very near your 'neighbours', especially when there was a snorer who snored for at least 12 hours, and so hard that his tent shook and you could hear it 4 tents away, very amusing though...

They also offered a free city tour on Wednesdays, English-speaking tour guides, all you needed was to pay for your own tram ticket, the tram station was literally 5mins up the road and it was 24 hours operated, so getting to and fro Oktoberfest wasn't at all challenging.

If you plan to drive there, once you've found a place to park, don't drive until you plan to leave The Tent as the parking space there are very wanted, if you drive away there's no guarantee that you'll find a spot to park again.

Oh free wifi too, but sometimes quite hard to connect to it, also power sockets in the 'hut' and bathroom, and they offer free charging in the office area too.

Overall it was a very good place, considering how inexpensive it was.. Just make sure you go in the summer when it's hot or bring warm clothes with you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandeelui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    95
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
43
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked this place solely to save money during Oktoberfest, as the sleeping, food, and beer were all inexpensive. What we were not expecting was to meet potential friends for life. Travellers from all over the world come together for ping pong, basketball, and campfires. The food was great, but there was not a large selection. Sleeping can be a bit challenging even though they try very hard to enforce quiet hours, and it got somewhat cold even though the weather was great during the day. The staff is helpful, and you can even get your cellphone and camera batteries charged, b/c they keep european/american converters at the main office.
We are mid-30's, and well above the average age there, but there were all age groups represented, and the people were friendly regardless. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtommy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at The Tent during the last weekend of Oktoberfest. It was exceptionally busy, and despite the fact that we'd booked for a 6 man tent, we did struggle to find a spot that was big enough for it. It's a lovely site, but the actual camping area is quite small, and there doesn't seem to be a huge deal of organisation about it, so if you could go in a smaller tent, I'd recommend that, even better, don't bring a tent at all and use their communal camping areas which seem pretty well constructed. The campsite has an excellent cafe which sells really cheap continental breakfast, and later meals, and beer of course and the setting is great. It's well secluded by trees, and the communal camp fire is great. You need to get to the toilets and showers very early as it gets so very busy, but the 1am curfew is pretty good and allows campers to get some sleep. It's very well placed for getting to the tram stop and into town, and it's cheap most importantly. I would say though, if you are going in the car be aware that there is no onsite parking, we had to park on the street and carry all of our camping equipment into the site which was a complete pain. Also, not being familiar with the German road signs, we ended up with a parking fine, so please be aware of where you park on the roads. Other than that, it's a really good place for exploring the city on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocialButterfly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

After an overpriced stay at an unfriendly hostel we arrived at the Tent looking for alternative accomodation and we found an extremely friendly, well equipped Campsite/Hostel with cheap prices and excellent proximity to Munich center.

We camped and made use of the brilliant communal fire every night to sit around, chat and drink. The food they cooked there was well priced and delicious and the breakfasts fantastic too.

The only downside was that the showers were crazy (although perfectly fine) and that the Laundry section was closed for longer during the day than they had advertised, causing us to wait around for a significant portion of the day. Other than that I could find no fault with the place.

Free wi-fi too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Egg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

After our plans of staying with some friends of ours fell through when they went on a last-minute holiday, we were left scrambling for a place to stay, and since we were already at the bottom of funds and hadn't accounted for 2 more nights, we had to come up with a cheap option, fast.

Luckily, we had some other friends meeting up from Berlin that were already booked that told us about it, so we checked it out. For the price, I definitely think It's unbeatable!

It was barely 20 euros for 2 nights stay, and while the accommodations were a little spartan (we stayed in the bunk beds in the main tent), it is an easy recommendation for budget-minded travelers. The spot itself, as the name implies, consists mainly of one large tent with stacks of bunk beds throughout. The staff was very sure to make sure the quiet time of 1am was very well enforced, so you can still get a decent night's sleep (so long as you're not too much of a light sleeper). Up til the 1am curfew though, there was a bonfire and all sorts of travelers from all over hanging out. The place itself is pretty, lush with flowers and vegetation, and everyone we met was really cool.

So long as you're not overly troubled by sleeping in relatively close proximity to many people (in which case, why are you checking out a place called 'The Tent'??), this comes as an easy recommendation for the budget-minded traveler.

Bonus: It is 1 short block from a rail line that heads to the main city center, which then can connect straight to the airport, perfect if, like us, you're heading straight home from Munich.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
21.3 km away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#335 of 382 in Munich
17 reviews
5.4 km away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 77 in Munich
993 reviews
5.4 km away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 77 in Munich
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
5.0 km away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
2.7 km away
A&O Munich Laim
A&O Munich Laim
#37 of 77 in Munich
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Property: THE TENT Munich
Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing