We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hotel looks very simple and boring outside, but interiors are nice. Lobby area is lovely and I think it is the only part that has been renovated recently. Rooms are fine, althouhg not my style, but definitely need an urgent renovation. Carpets, furniture, bedding, all extremely old. TV is ancient. Bathrooms are great with huge bathtubs. Then again toiletteries are not good enough for a 5 star property. Breakfast was awesome. I have mixed feelings about the staff. Some were great, then again some, especially during check in and check out were not at at all helpful. Location is good, just a short walking distance drom Marienplatz. Overall we were happy with the hotel but cant really say that this hotel deserves to be a leading hotels of the world member.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 288 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. My family and I were given a lot of attentions and were kindly treated during our stay. The facilities are very good, you can use a computer in the lobby for free, including the printer; the wellness area is also good, a quiet place to relax in the whirlpool after a shopping day, for example. The location is excellent. All in all, it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlooking the Palace of Justice are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacher95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is a simple yellow box from the outside. Once you enter it is well furnished and the rooms and bathrooms are large, ellegant and well supplied. It is close to the train station and close to the center of Munich, both less than five minutes walking.
The restaurant has nice food but it is very expensive. You can order food to the room but also at high prices.
It has a small bar where drinks are served until late hours.
When we stayed there most other guests were foreigners. A large number of guests from the Middle East and from Latin America

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I had wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time, and finally got a room rate I could justify (175 Euros). I was not disappointed. This is the nicest hotel I have stayed in this year, and the best since the Vier Jahreszeiten in Hamburg last year.

Notably, this hotel is a member of the “Leading Small Hotels of the World,” the third of these I have stayed at in the past two years. I know nothing about this association, but I have been impressed at each of these hotels, so I have started to believe this is a designation that warrants consideration when choosing a hotel.

The exterior of the hotel is deceiving – it is non-descript and unattractive, but the interior is great. I’ll let the photos do the talking, but in short, my room was clean, large, beautifully and elegantly decored, quiet, with high ceilings, comfortable bed, ample closet space, and a very nice bathroom. The room was well equipped with umbrella, safe, bathrobes, and mini-bar. There were some nice touches, such as complimentary bottled water, chocolate, and apples. Service was friendly, quick, and very professional.

Nevertheless, there were some missed opportunities. Food was exorbitantly expensive; I’m not sure I have ever seen hotel food priced so high. The air conditioner in the room didn’t seem to be working, but I could open the windows wide and it was cool outside but got street noise. The TV was curiously old and outdated. No ironing board. In-room coffee facilities would have been good, but there was none.

Despite some of the shortcomings, this is a great hotel and a really good option in the Karlsplatz area.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in the Konigshof for two nights on a trip to Munich mainly for business, using the very good Leading Hotels of the World membership card (which is much recommended as it provides some valuable perks including free breakfasts at the member hotels). The room was fairly clean and well furnished (carpet stained and all a bit in need of redecoration, but basically comfortable to luxurious). The service was extremely professional and diligent. A cramped lounge on the ground floor, a spacious restaurant with a good reputation on the first floor. The hotel is comfortable but has two drawbacks - it is pricey and it is in a dreadful location, surrounded on three sides by Munich's busiest trafffic providing a continuous row that the double glazing did not completely eliminate. There are other hotels which are as comfortable and less noisy in Munich.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,581 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: €222 - €448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing