We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
198
220
66
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
220
66
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station rick steves street noise fifth floor apartment building shared bathroom convenient location noisy at night breakfast room light sleeper within easy walking distance each morning would definitely stay here again rooms were very clean two blocks loved this hotel small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2014

I've spent 5 nights at the Monaco and made a good experience. Though at first sight the hotel seems surcharged with decoration it's a place to feel very comfortable.
Be aware that the hotel is located max. 5 minutes away from the central rail station of Munich. This can be an advantage but the area is very lively and active at night (slightly noisy). On the other hand you quickly get to the city centre and major places and shopping areas.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Leaving your luggage after you checked out for a few hours is not a problem and they are always happy to help.
My room (3rd floor of the hotel) was very small, unfortunately without any space to work but with a lavatory. Bathroom was shared and located two floors beneath. For me it wasn't a problem to share the bathroom, usually it was free in the morning but be aware that with a small room you don't have an own bathroom or toilet (lavatory only!). I have to add that I booked the room for a hostel fee so it's fine.
Summing up I had a lovely stay at the Monaco and felt perfectly at ease. For a few days it sure is a good address to go.

Room tip: Small rooms really are small!
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

My daughter and I spent 5 nights there; We were doing 5 tours on separate days, all of which left within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful, and of course friendly. They even told us where we could get ice cream at a sit down store. Some had a little difficulty understanding my American style of talking-too fast and too many unnatural words. Speaking slowly and annunciating clearly helped.

Room tip: Avoid open windows because of street noise up to 12:00 midnight.Closed window mutes the noise. In unusual warm weather an electric fan cooled the room and killed city noise.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent two nights in a triple room on the 6th floor. Very clean, plenty of space, bright/airy tiled bathroom. Hotel decor is cherubs, gingham, lace, teddy bears and hearts. Lighthearted! Bed linens are solid color and comfy, Lots of electric plugs and lighting in our room and a fan. Large armoire, desk and chair, and small round table with two chairs. Just great! Paid 9 euros each for breakfast - totally agree with other reviewers that this delicious and varied buffet is well worth it, Dining room was cheerful and charming. Staff were all lovely. Proximity to train station and tour bus stops is so convenient, about a 15 minute walk to main plaza/town center.

Room tip: Elevator only goes up to the 5th floor, use stairs to get to the 6th
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chariot1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My son and I stayed here just one night. It is very convenient to the central train station (5 minutes), and to the Karls Platz station as well. Reception is on the 5th floor. There is a lift. The reception folks were great. They accept only cash, so be prepared for that. Breakfast is fabulous and well worth the 9 euros price tag. The area can be a little noisy. Previous reviewers have complained about that. There is no AC, so fortunately, it was cool enough to be able to keep the windows closed at night which made for a great night of sleep. We were in 405, which is a very generous corner room with its own bath/shower. Would definitely stay here again. Very homey and comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A hotel with attention in details, that was my first impression of Hotel Monaco. The reception was very friendly and helpful, they even have a welcome board for the check-in guests! They even lend us a water cooker to make hot water for our baby and a bowl to heat up baby food.
The room is clean and pretty, feels like spending the night at your grandma's house rather than a hotel. Bathroom is spacious. There is no AC, but a fan is provided in the room for hot summer days. Wifi was OK. We didn't take the breakfast as it is quite pricey (9 euros/ person). The lift is tiny, can only accommodate 4 people, but working alright.
The hotel is close to the train station as well as trams and buses stop, so it is very convenient. It's in the middle of the city, you'll find everything you need: shops, restaurant, drug store, etc within reach. Sure there are few strip clubs and bars nearby, but didn't really bother us. It does gives an advantage though, when you're coming back late at night, there are still a lot of people on the street, feels safer.

Room tip: I think any room would be the same. It's a small hotel, wherever the room face doesn't make a big difference in terms of noise from the street, if you open the window.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ajenkneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews