We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let Area Deter You”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #136 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Stayed here for three nights at end of October. Convenient location for main train station, Karlsplatz, and underground shopping. However, Schillerstrasse is a bit seedy although we felt very safe walking to and from the hotel.
Take elevator to reception, a bright area with a knowledgeable, friendly staff. Our room was on the sixth floor on the backside of the hotel.It was quiet and comfortable and immaculate. Good size bathroom, as well as the size of our double room. Price is very reasonable and includes an ample and varied breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay here next time I am in Muenchen.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of hotel are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VermontFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Front Desk at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your time to write a comment. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! With best regards, Fatih Balta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed here twice on our recent trip to Munich. The first time was for 3 nts and we had room 33. It had twin beds, a sofa, a desk/chair, closet, and nice bath with glassed-in shower and hair dryer. The room faced the street and earplugs were needed at night. Our room was pretty and very clean. It also had a safe. My photo shows the beds together. We pushed them apart and had plenty of room.

There was a buffet breakfast included and it was a large and varied spread . . . coffees, teas, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, several cereals, 3 wonderful yogurts, a variety of breads and pastries, lunch meats, fresh fruits, 3 kinds of juices. Everything was yummy!

The location is just a block from the train station and the underground shopping area and very close to Marienplatz. We only took public transportation once as we could easily walk everyplace.

We visited Salzburg and when we returned, we again stayed here and had room 34, across the hall from our first room. It was VERY quiet and had the same amenities except for the sofa.

This is a really nice place to stay . . . and we felt very safe. We will stay here again the next time we are in Munich . . . this is a real gem.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Front Desk at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sandy, thank you very much for your time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again here. With best regards, Fatih Balta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I stayed in this hotel in the end of October for 3 nights with my husband. It's easily accessible from central train station but place to avoid because of it's location. on the first floor of the building is big strip club located and terrible noise for whole night. The hotel gets closed after 20:00 and you need to ring. I can't say it's dangerous place because nobody told us anything but it's not definitely a place for a solo woman traveller or families with children. You can easily book another hotel in the same price in better location. The room itself is big but amenities very poor. We didn't even have a greeting bottle of water or the hot water for tea and coffee. We stayed on last floor without elevator and when asked to change the room got declined. I would recommend this place ONLY for those people who are coming for business and need to stay next to train station.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as noise will not come up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gvantsa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Front Desk at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam, thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to give us a review. Due to our central location the surrounding is very colourful und lively like in all bigger cities in Germany but there is no safety issue given that Munich is one of safest cities in Europe. We also would like to point out that we offer water in the rooms for only 2 EUR per bottle. With best regards, Fatih Balta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The hotel is reasonably priced and provides all essentials. The check in counter is not on ground level, take an elevator there. The room is a bit small but adequate. It is very close to the main station so it is very convenient. The street is very busy, vibrant and diverse with jewelries, ethnic eateries, and other night life activities. A bit funky to some. We stayed for two nights and found the street safe since there are so many pedestrians and even security guards around. The hotel will lock the gate in the evening and use a CCTV to check guests coming back. To avoid street noise, ask for above fifth floor but not the top floor and ask for rooms facing the courtyard (facing east). It was hot when we got back and have to open all windows and main door to get the cool upward draft to cool down the room.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Front Desk at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to point out the possibility to safe a comfort room facing the courtyard for a small surcharge before your arrival. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards, Fatih Balta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This place is 2 blocks from the main train station.
The room is small, but if you are just looking for a place to stay then you will be just fine.
The WiFi is fast and steady, I think I pulled 40 megs.
The hotel serves breakfast and the staff is multi lingual.
This hotel has many places to visit close by and they can arrange taxi if you need.
The room is not air conditioned, but it did have a window that opened all the way and a fan.
The TV has many channels and a couple english ones as well. Even one that plays music videos, wish we had that in the US... hehe

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Front Desk at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Greg, thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your room. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards, Fatih Balta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 km away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#193 of 390 in Munich
520 reviews
0.6 km away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#119 of 390 in Munich
899 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#66 of 390 in Munich
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0 km away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#142 of 390 in Munich
287 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#205 of 390 in Munich
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: €62 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing