We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mullersches Volksbad

Mullersches Volksbad
Ranked #1 of 28 Spas & Wellness in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Absolutely beautiful building and should be a must see for any trip to Munich.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Most gorgeous pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you're feeling saucy you might want to check out the sauna days, just beware some days it's women only. Also, be forewarned you'll have to leave prudish tendencies at the door. Going to visit the pool at a minimum is certainly worth it (evening hours are with suits). I don't think I've ever seen such a grandiose swim hall in my life.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
157 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ornate swimming hall, dull sauna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The main swimming hall is worth seeing. The sauna area isn't.

Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wellness Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Volksbad is a great place to spend a relaxing evening or afternoon. Two swimming pools in art deco halls, Steam room, dry sauna, wet sauna, warm pool, cold plunge pool and if you book one you can get a variety of massages at fair rates.

The building is great, they have towels for rent and Tues is women's day, not sure when mens day is but saunas are reserved for single sexes on those days. Fee is 14 Euro and well worth it.

You can also rent a "cabin" that has a day bed for resting, changing etc. Otherwise a basic locker comes with your fee.

Great break if you have sore feet from all the walking or just want a restful break - open till 11 at night, plan on spending a few hours.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Clearly, my expectations were too high…”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I’ve been reading about these baths near the Deutsches Museum for several years as one of the ‘must do’ things in Munich. Having taken a liking to the sauna and therme tradition of Germany, and finding myself with a couple hours on my hands, I decided to give this historic location a try.

In all fairness, my wife and I have visited some very nice spas in Europe, so I admit that my opinion of THIS spa/schwimmbad/sauna is at least a little skewed, (Maybe even a bit harsh!) but still….

As you approach the building, it is quite imposing along the river banks (literally across the street from the Deutsches Museum). I thought, “this is gonna be great!” Once inside however, I found a few things to be more challenging than I had expected.

• I was unable to locate a map of the place, and after looking at the menu of fees; I still was unable to figure out exactly what I was asking for.
• The person working the admission booth was quite friendly, but apparently had NO English whatsoever. I’m good with that, but…
• Signage around the place was sort of hit and miss, especially since you have to leave some of your belongings in a small box near the attendant, (who also only spoke German, but was significantly more curt!)
• I kept thinking I would find a map of the place so I would know where the various baths and saunas were located. If such a thing exists, it’s still a mystery to me. At one point, I made my way into the hall with the main pool wrapped only in a towel, only to find the door (that would lead me back to the sauna) locked behind me. Finally figured out my wristband would unlock the door, after a bit of wondering how I would negotiate getting out of the spa in only a towel.
• But most importantly, assuming I found all the major features on offer, I was a little surprised there wasn’t more there. Granted, I was there on a Wednesday afternoon, but having said that, I was surprised to find the only two dozen or so other patrons in the entire place, and most of them were, shall we say, of the elder population.

All the reports about the beauty of the facility are true, as it was certainly a gem of the late 19th century, and has been well preserved. Somehow, I think that I expected there would be a bit more in the sauna area, and that even if exclusively in German, the staff would be a bit more helpful to a wayward and weary tourist.

Maybe three or four stars on another day with a different attendant working the locker room, but not this time around!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullersches Volksbad also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mullersches Volksbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing