We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$248
Destinia.com
Agoda.comUS$226
eDreamsUS$205
FindHotelUS$226
Trip.com
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,057)
Filter reviews
2,056 results
Traveller rating
1,298
641
96
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,298
641
96
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street train station great hotel excellent breakfast side street hotel is located walking distance convenient location munich hbf minute walk excellent stay excellent location city centre visiting munich metropole kettle europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,056 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2021

The hotel I think is in the perfect location. It is very close to the Munich HBF and yet far enough that it is not noisy. It is on a side street that was quiet which makes such a big difference if you are a light sleeper. COVID protocols were followed to the letter. We had to show our Green Pass before they could even check us in. We arrived just before the outbreak of the Omicron variant so no doubt they are even softer than they were 3 weeks ago. The room was large and comfortable and WiFi was free and fast. Staff was friendly and spoke perfect English. Lot’s of food options nearby and markets as well so you can stock up your hotel room and avoid the higher cost of items at the HBF.
A couple of pieces of advise. First of all if you are coming from the US, no doubt your flight will be arriving early. You can pay a little extra to check in early which after a long flight is a small price to pay. Second if you want to save a lot of money, I would recommend avoiding a cab and take the train. The airport is pretty far from the hotel and will cost around 80 euro. You can buy your train ticket (zone M-5) for about $13 either ahead of time and print it from home or just buy it on their app when you get there. Avoid the Munich traffic that way and save your money for a great meal. It’s only a 5 minute walk from the HBF. Last piece of advise is do what you need to do to treat the Green Pass. If you are going to Switzerland and have to get the Swiss Pass, you can back door getting the Green Pass. It is massively faster than trying to pull out your COVID immunity card and many locations on our trip wanted only the Green Pass. Enjoy.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RjessMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2021

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed it. We are also pleased that you liked our concept regarding the corona arrangements. We try to make this as pleasant as possible for our guests. We were happy to share your praise with all our colleagues.
Our future guests will certainly be happy about your tips in and around Munich! Thank you very much for sharing them.
We would be happy to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Your Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2021

The hotel is a 3 min walk to the Munich Central Station, and a 10 min walk to the Marienplatz et al. The rooms are comfortably sized, very well appointed and mine had a balcony! Loved it! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank akshayramlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Munich. We are especially pleased that you liked the central location.
We look forward to your next visit to Munich.
Kind regards
Your Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2021 via mobile

Words are not enough to describe the beauty of the hotel rooms, the staff friendliness and the amazing breakfast we had. Such a wide variety of cheeses beside all you could ask for. The lady at the breakfast doesn't speak English, but it was ok because we didn't her much

Room tip: The parking spots in the garage are on ramps. We parked ours outside the ramps.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 55lilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you so much for your great review. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we will share your praise to our staff.
We would be so happy to see you soon again.
Best regards
Your Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2021 via mobile

Hotel Metropol is a superb value and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Munich within walking distance of the old town. This hotel really focuses on those things that matter the most to travelers: comfortable beds, quiet rooms (even those not facing the interior courtyard are quiet), compact but well designed bathrooms, well maintained rooms, friendly and accommodating staff, convenient location a few minutes from the main train station with easy walking access to the old town, good wifi, and the ability to pay a little extra for a guaranteed morning check in (this was especially important to me as I arrived in the morning after a red eye flight). The shower is excellent as well-strong water pressure, no shortage of hot water and there is both a waterfall overhead shower head and a hand-held shower head. I did not try the breakfast, unfortunately, but everything else was top notch, especially at the room price I paid.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jv_travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us in our house and that you were fully satisfied. We were happy to share your praise with all the staff. We recommend that you book with breakfast next time! We are sure that you will also like it.
We would be very happy to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Your Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2021

Very good located hotel with very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast its give you good kick start for you new morning. Near by hotel have many nice restaurants and public transport stops are near by hotel and public transport work well in Munich

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JuhaM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2021

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your great review. we are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and were able to enjoy it to the fullest. We were happy to share your praise with all our colleagues. We are also particularly pleased with your feedback about our breakfast buffet. We place a lot of value on a good start to the day as well as on our products, which we source regionally.
We would be happy to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Your Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews