We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
495
62
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
62
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking hot tub neuschwanstein castle romantic suite steam room excellent hotel sister hotel sliding door perfect place to stay junior suite air conditioning walking distance book tickets dinner reservations side window minutes walk away small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Stayed just one night but what a fantastic hotel. We were greeted very warmly and were given an upgraded room with a view of the castle. The room is expertly appointed with everything you need. Contemporary furnishing but very comfortable with a balcony to boot. There is free underground parking and walking distance to everything in town. The complimentary breakfast was good with a wide variety of typical German fare. My only complaint was the room was so very hot and stuffy, even on a cool rainy day.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank huey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This area is packed with tourists, which detracts from its beauty. But the crowds clear around dusk, so if you plan to stay, book at Hotel Villa Ludwig and splurge for a view of the Castle. After all, that is why you made the long trek here. The Romantic room is like a Disney experience with a starlit canopy. For dinner, skip the nearby tourist traps and walk an extra couple of blocks down to Alpenrose am see on the lake. It's very romantic, and there's a nice path to walk around the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank taylrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel after a wonderful experience last year. As someone who spends a lot of nights in hotels through work then it is a real pleasure when you find somewhere as god as this. I would recommend one of the suites which have the direct view of the castle, more to do with the quality of the rooms as much as the view.
Breakfast served to my room each day was a perfect start to each day, great quality and such friendly service.
We stayed here for a week and even though this is perfect for the castles, don't under appreciate the whole area for places to visit. There are many hiking routes around the whole area, and all of which are so well signposted and clean. Happy to share those with anyone who wants to get in touch.
Zugspitze is not too far a drive and is definitely worth a visit, as is Garmisch Partenkirchen which is on the route. The latter being a picture perfect small town in this part of Germany.
As my German speaking is not that good it was never a problem as so many people spoke English around this whole area.
Very secure underground garage for parking with lift access direct to all rooms

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We booked online for the Romantik Suite "Tristan und Isolde" for one night when we were in Heidelberg the previous evening. We stayed in Heidelberg longer than anticipated so our arrival to Hohenswangau was much later than my original estimate on the booking. We called to update our arrival time and was told it was no problem. We arrived around 8:20 pm and the staff took our requested time for the castle tours to order our tickets for next day. When asked where we can eat dinner, they called the nearby Alpenstuben restaurant to tell them we are coming because they nomrally take their last order at 8:30 pm. After a wonderful dinner (as guests at Villal Ludwig, we were served with a glass of Prosecco to start the meal!), we came back to the hotel, parked in the secure underground garage, and found our room (201) to be modern and spacious! Our room didn't have a view of Neuschwanstein Castle but the view from the patio was great! My wife enjoyed a soothing bath in the large tub before a nice rest in the comfortable bed. Next morning our tickets for both castles were ready when we went for breakfast. Food was plenty and tasty. We checkout out and left our rental car in the secure garage while we toured the castles. When we came back to collect our car, I wanted to buy a coffe to take away for the drive to our next destination, Singen, but the staff will not charge me for the coffee!

The only minor issue for us was the WiFi connection was restricted to 200 MB each for 2 devices. In the day of smart phones, iPads, and laptops, that's not much bandwidth for us to plan our itinerary and check departure flights. Other than the limiting WiFi, we really enjoyed our stay at Villa Ludwig! The service was great, room was nice, location was convenient with secure parking. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Short walk to the castles and the ticket office. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms are top notch. Underground parking at the hotel. Most if not all rooms have a view of neuschwanstein from your private deck

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ddhutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews