We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Trifthof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$130
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$154
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlas Grand Hotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$159
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$152
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aschenbrenner(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zugspitze(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dorint SportHotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$184
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$291
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staudacherhof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$237
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Gasthof Fraundorfer(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
93
57
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
57
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardentable with chairsstrudelquiet areahomemade jamshotel restaurant isrecommend staying hereunderground parkingother hotelswould highly recommend this hoteltop floorgood sizeyogurttrain stationbalconymountainstown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Just left the hotel after a 5 night winter break with family. Everything was top notch as always. Can’t wait to return to see Martin and family and enjoy the Bavarian way of life, food and beer. We dined in the restaurant twice and the food and service was terrific.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank dodger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stayed here for only 1 night during Christmas. We had a very spacious and comfortable room on the top floor - sofa, 2 beds, desk and a tea table with 2 chairs and picture windows. The bathroom was very big and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it spotless. A very comfortable stay and great value. Booked a day prior and had also called 2 other hotels that quoted double and triple the price for much smaller rooms. So glad I chose Schatten!
Took a while to connect to internet but eventually got on.
Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious.
Walked around the nearby town as well as to the train station (about 20mins away). Taxi is about 6€ to train station. Lovely, quiet area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

If you are looking for charm in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, look no further. My husband and I stayed at the Hotel & Gasthof Schatten a few weeks ago on a trip to Germany. We loved the hotel. It is charming and decorated with beautiful Bavarian decor. You can't beat the views from the balconies. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is tasty, try the homemade jams, they are delicious! Also, visit the restaurant inside the hotel, true Bavarian cuisine! I would highly recommend this hotel, and will be staying there again!!! It is conveniently located near restaurants and shops. (contact Neuschwanstein Castle Tours by Taxi Chris Edwards, on trip advisor for a great tours of the area)!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of the friendly feel that we had from the website and how caring they are. It was. In a quieter part of town. The staff, rooms and services were excellent. We ate in the restaurant and were happy. The beer is excellent and a selection.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed for one night and were upgraded to a spacious top floor room with a big balcony and an exquisite view of the mountains behind the hotel--a magical view that surrounds the town, almost like a painted backdrop in the distance. The room had been recently updated and the bathroom was great, with both a deep tub and a shower stall, with a small skylight above.
The front desk is not manned all night so we did have to remember to ask about a hike recommendation before dinner. But we did remember, and the hotel manager recommended an excellent hike for the morning before our early departure (walking through town and up the ski mountain to then take the lift back down).
Dinner in the restaurant was good, hearty Bavarian fare--essentially meat and potatoes with sauce. Tasty, simple. Nothing to write home about but it was exactly what we expected. Breakfast was similarly good, though not one of the best buffets we encountered on the trip: simple and hearty, with a selection of decent breads and eggs and yogurt.
Overall a lovely experience that was sealed by the top floor room with its floor space for stretching out and its balcony for enjoying the moonrise and fresh, mountain air.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews