We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
98
60
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
60
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden table with chairs strudel quiet area homemade jams recommend staying here clean rooms other hotels would highly recommend this hotel good size nice balcony train station top floor gasthof balconies internet germany
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Just left the hotel after a 5 night winter break with family. Everything was top notch as always. Can’t wait to return to see Martin and family and enjoy the Bavarian way of life, food and beer. We dined in the restaurant twice and the food and service was terrific.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dodger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stayed here for only 1 night during Christmas. We had a very spacious and comfortable room on the top floor - sofa, 2 beds, desk and a tea table with 2 chairs and picture windows. The bathroom was very big and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it spotless. A very comfortable stay and great value. Booked a day prior and had also called 2 other hotels that quoted double and triple the price for much smaller rooms. So glad I chose Schatten!
Took a while to connect to internet but eventually got on.
Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious.
Walked around the nearby town as well as to the train station (about 20mins away). Taxi is about 6€ to train station. Lovely, quiet area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

If you are looking for charm in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, look no further. My husband and I stayed at the Hotel & Gasthof Schatten a few weeks ago on a trip to Germany. We loved the hotel. It is charming and decorated with beautiful Bavarian decor. You can't beat the views from the balconies. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is tasty, try the homemade jams, they are delicious! Also, visit the restaurant inside the hotel, true Bavarian cuisine! I would highly recommend this hotel, and will be staying there again!!! It is conveniently located near restaurants and shops. (contact Neuschwanstein Castle Tours by Taxi Chris Edwards, on trip advisor for a great tours of the area)!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kate1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of the friendly feel that we had from the website and how caring they are. It was. In a quieter part of town. The staff, rooms and services were excellent. We ate in the restaurant and were happy. The beer is excellent and a selection.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed for one night and were upgraded to a spacious top floor room with a big balcony and an exquisite view of the mountains behind the hotel--a magical view that surrounds the town, almost like a painted backdrop in the distance. The room had been recently updated and the bathroom was great, with both a deep tub and a shower stall, with a small skylight above.
The front desk is not manned all night so we did have to remember to ask about a hike recommendation before dinner. But we did remember, and the hotel manager recommended an excellent hike for the morning before our early departure (walking through town and up the ski mountain to then take the lift back down).
Dinner in the restaurant was good, hearty Bavarian fare--essentially meat and potatoes with sauce. Tasty, simple. Nothing to write home about but it was exactly what we expected. Breakfast was similarly good, though not one of the best buffets we encountered on the trip: simple and hearty, with a selection of decent breads and eggs and yogurt.
Overall a lovely experience that was sealed by the top floor room with its floor space for stretching out and its balcony for enjoying the moonrise and fresh, mountain air.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews