We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient, friendly”
Review of Hotel Schilcherhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schilcherhof
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, friendly”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed twice at the Schilcherhof. We liked it (and Oberammergau) so much, we visited again later in our trip. Our rooms were comfortable, quiet and had free Wi-Fi. There is off-street parking and the hotel is within walking distance of everything. The hotel staff was very friendly and had helpful information, in very good English, on dining and directions. The included breakfast was excellent. The hotel is locked after 20:00, but we were given a key to the front door.
We found Oberammergau to be a good central location for day trips in Bavaria. There are many restaurant options, hotels are relatively inexpensive (in a non Passion Play year), and strolling around in the evening is really special. There are several local hiking trails and many of the sites on our “to do” list were within a 1 hour drive.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mushroomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

28th -30th July 2010 : A group of 11 of us travelled to Oberammergau via 'Travel Without Borders' specifically to see the Passion Play. At Hotel Schilcherhof we were welcomed by Carmen who went to a great deal of trouble checking we would be happy with our rooms in the hotel and arranged for a single person with us to have a more convenient room and another 'couple' a room on the first floor because of stairs. Our luggage was carried to our rooms, although there were trolley paths to one side of the stairs to ease the process if we chose to be independent. They also offered to bring luggage down on the day of departure. We asked for a cup of tea on arrival which was willingly provided.
All of the staff were obliging, courteous, amusing, delightful, caring.
All the rooms were scrupulously clean and well presented. OK you are in Bavaria and the furnishings were traditional and not IKEA/ Furnitureland !!
One of the party needed to find a camera shop and several shops were suggested with directions. Indeed directions were given for several places we asked about.
The time of our Dinner was altered to enable us to attend an evening presentation of information about the Play. We just had to cross the road to Wolf Hotel for Dinners and Lunch. Again the food was well presented, 3 to 4 main course choices, but German ! They were happy to offer salad as an alternative to noodles/ vegetables whatever,there was a fruit alternative to the pudding offered and most of our group were delighted with the food. Yes it was quickly served, but the town doubles in size on Performance days and there are a lot of people to feed in a quick turnover between performances etc.
Breakfast was a very adequate continental breakfast with meats/cheese/variety of breads/ rolls/ cereals/ fruit/ juice etc charmingly served and attended by two English ladies.
Two of our party enjoy early morning 'mountain strolls' and there was always someone there to 'let them out' giving them coffee before they set off.
They were proud to tell us of all the parts that various members of the family had played in the Play and there was a very interesting display of photos on the walls. Fresh flowers in the foyer, sunflowers and lighted candles, quiet music in the background.
We knew before we went to Oberammergau that the hotel could only offer Category 2 seating, so were not disappointed. The day of the performance, fleecy blankets were placed on the hall table to be taken to the performances. We unfortunately hit a rainy week and were grateful for the extra warmth they provided. Cushions could also be taken.
This year for the first time the performances were 2.30pm and 8pm. Obviously it was difficult to follow the English script of the Play at night and I am not sure that it was helpful that many of the audience had brought torches with them to read the script. It was a case of being tolerant !
The Play is SPECTACULAR, PROFESSIONAL, MOVING, AMAZING.
Crowd scenes of 5-600 people and more on stage, not to mention horses, camels, goats, sheep, doves etc. The characters lived and breathed their parts. Any shop/restaurant or just in town, look out for the men with beards and long flowing hair and ask what part they play. They are proud to tell you.
Hotel Schilcherhof was as ideally situated as any of the hotels in the town, but it is to be highly recommended for the excellent service provided. So we could take advantage of the town on the final day, they willingly stored our luggage and allowed us access to facilities until we had to leave, in spite of taking in a huge number of new guests that day. We felt the three day Passion Play package we paid for was worth every penny. Thank you Hotel Schilcherhof for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back in 2020. DV !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel was very convenient. Since there is no air conditioning however, the windows had to be open and the street noise was horrible. The doors had to be locked with a key even from the inside. The outer doors were also locked with keys and there is no way out unless the staff will open the doors for you. In the event of fire, you would be locked in and though the doors are glass plated, the metal across the doors was so close together that you would not be able to squeeze through even if you broke the glass. We told the hostess that our bus was picking us up at 5 a.m. and that we needed to be out on the street (there were 10 of us) before that time. She said she would not open the door until 5 - she kept her word. I'm glad there was no fire. It was also difficult for all of us to get baggage down the stairs from the 3rd floor with no elevator.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in order to see the Passion Play, as part of a longer holiday, part of which we shared with a group from our church and part independently (travelling by rail around Europe). The rest of our group were scattered around Oberammergau, some in private homes and some in a hotel a few miles outside the village. I think we had a great deal being allocated the Schilcherhof, which is so conveniently located for the Play itself but also for the village in general. It was also really handy for our bus to Garmish-Partenkirchen afterwards (we were travelling onto Zurich for the final leg of our extended trip).

Our room at the hotel was really lovely, all the wooden furniture appearing brand new. We had a beautiful example of the famous Oberammergau wood carving in our room, a stunning crucifix which had been tastefully decorated with floweres and ivy. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, if unobtrusive.

Breakfast was, for us, a bit of a let down compared with the other 5 hotels we stayed at during our fortnight of travelling, but it's hardly fair to compare this with the much more expensive hotels in Switzerland, although our Italian hotel had served better breakfast for a lower room rate. My husband is diabetic and there wasn't much at the breakfast table that really suited his needs in terms of complex carbohydrates whilst avoiding sugars.

Like others who have left reviews on this hotel, our package for the Passion Play included lunch and dinners at the adjacent Wolf Hotel. We wouldn't quite share the enthusiasm for the meals there that others have left, as the cooking there was far too salty for our tastes (and health), but again, to be fair, we had been spoilt by excellent cuisine elsewhere during our trip.

The only downside for us from staying at the Schilcherhof was that we hadn't been aware prior to getting there that seats for the Passion Play are allocated according to the grade of accommodation in the package, with visitors needing to stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel to get good seats. As I'm very small, this is a real issue for me and being at the back meant that I could only see part of the stage, with most of the central stage completely obscured by heads in front. My husband, who is 6 foot tall, also couldn't see as he had someone 6 foot 7 in front of him. Given that everyone from our group had paid exactly the same for the trip, it felt unfair that we ended up with very different quality of seats with most of our party being at the front. This isn't the fault of the Schilcherhof, of course, but it does mean that I will want to go back another year to see the play from a better seat (I'm quite deaf too so sitting near the front is critical for me), so next time would have to stay at a more expensive hotel.

The Passion Play itself was astonishing, and incredibly moving. I had no idea the music was so lovely, either. Thoroughly recommended!!

We would certainly consider staying at the Schilcherhof again for a general holiday, exploring the lovely region locally either in summer or winter. Oberammergau is lovely, even if we did spend rather more than we had planned on the wonderful wooden carvings. It pays to be selective, by the way, as some are of much higher quality and workmanship than others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughrigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Eight students, another chaperon and I stayed at the Schilcerhof for two nights as part of our package to see the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Were the rooms deluxe accommodations? No. However, they were clean, the house was quiet at night, but most of all, the level of service made you feel like you were staying with family -- and I mean that in a good way.

When you arrange to attend the Passion Play, the package includes two nights at a hotel, all your meals, tickets for the play, and a guidebook with the dialogue and lyrics in German and a second language, in our case, English. Everything was in order at the hotel and our individual tickets for the meals and play were waiting for us. Typical German efficiency.

There was some initial confusion by the desk clerk over the distribution of our group's rooms, but I never saw that person again during our stay. Everyone in the family helped us with our bags, answered any questions, welcomed us to a wonderfully-presented breakfast, and held the door for us whenever we returned to their hotel.

I had a double room, which was a good size and included a balcony overlooking the Bahnhofstrasse. There was a small TV in a far corner but I could not for the life of me get the remote to work, so I tuned the TV the "old-fashioned way" to CNBC and just left it there. The bathroom was modest but very clean. My room was tidied by housekeeping while I was at breakfast. There was a second dining room in which coffee, beer and soft drinks were served during the day, which is also where a computer was located.

I saw some people eating at the hotel later in the day yet there was no mention of provisions for meals other than breakfast. Our package included lunch and dinner at their sister property, owned by the same family, the Hotel Wolf, which was, literally, across the street. Everyone in our group agreed that the meals there were the best of the entire trip, which also included Rome, Assisi, Salzburg and Munich. If you are in Oberammergau, I strongly recommend meals at the Hotel Wolf.

The Passion Play Theater was around the corner for our hotel, again making this location very convenient. The production was a true spectacle -- stunning for the sheer size of the cast; the quality of the acting, singing and musicians; and the tableaux vivants, the "living pictures" of biblical scenes between acts.

The weather put a damper on our visit. One June 1 we had snow flurries. Our visit was during the long stretch of rain southern Bavaria experienced in May and June. However, the warmth of our hosts made up for the dreary weather. They even told us to bring the blankets in our closets to the theater so we would be warm. When they bid us a fond "Auf Wiedersehen!" it truly was with the hope They would see us again.

We originally were supposed to stay at a rather ritzy resort in Murnau, but they way things worked out, this was much better. The convenience of walking from our hotel to any of the many woodcarving shops, the beautiful parish church, a drug store, restaurants, and the theater made the Schilcherhof an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
268 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
134 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
194 reviews
0.5 km away
Pension Dedlerhaus
Pension Dedlerhaus
#9 of 25 in Oberammergau
83 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#15 of 25 in Oberammergau
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schilcherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schilcherhof

Property: Hotel Schilcherhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schilcherhof 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schilcherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schilcherhof Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing