We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely town....Do not miss”

Oberammergau Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$294.57*
and up
Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This massive church is frequented visited by Catholic pilgrims.
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We didn't realise it was a public holiday so when we couldn't find accommodation in Ettal we went to Oberammergau for a look see. We weren't disappointed. A beautiful town with a religious theme throughout it due to a show that happens once every 10 years. Nestled in the mountains we wandered around. There was a very popular ice cream place doing good business. We found an Italian restaurant around the corner with great food and rude/odd service. For instance I arrived at 4pm and asked for a table for 2. I was asked if I had a reservation. They only had 2 other small groups in there, plenty of tables free and no one else got asked. (I'm white - so wasn't a racist thing). Just weird!!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank danceswithroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ceiling paintings"
in 6 reviews
"passion play"
in 18 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"rococo style"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful interior"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful town"
in 6 reviews
"amazing paintings"
in 3 reviews
"organ loft"
in 3 reviews
"take your breath away"
in 2 reviews
"midnight mass"
in 2 reviews
"tall tower"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 3 reviews
"gold"
in 10 reviews
"decoration"
in 11 reviews
"headstones"
in 6 reviews
"art"
in 10 reviews
"paul"
in 4 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

The bell is remembering you the time with one stroke for the quarter, two strokes for the half and the hour are the number of strokes. Inside is very well maintained and outside is surrounded by tombs and graves.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sapolapo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We saw this church and the Wieskirche on the same day. Personally, I liked this one more. Not only is the church beautiful, but the attached graveyard has some very ornate plots,

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank revG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We visited Oberammergau in Sep 2018 and had a chance to walk around the town.
The paintings on the buildings were unique and houses of worship were ornate.

This was a lovely find as i strolled along.

Feel free to leave a donation in the offering boxes at the back of the chapel.

(This church appears to be quite similar to the St. Martin church in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria - same style, same adornments, same structure...just diffferent color - and this one has a cemetary adjacent)

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Mikewinburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Oberammergau Church is set back from the main streets but is definitely worth a detour.

In contrast to the outside, the interior - with its ceiling frescoes, masonry, sculptures and gold embellishments - is opulent and ornate; overwhelmingly so! At the back of the church is an alcove containing a diorama depicting the Passion of Christ (which makes sense having since learnt the Passion is re-enacted here).

Even the headstones in the graveyard are intricate and worthy of attention. As we left, the bells pealed - we couldn't have timed it better if we tried!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HBB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oberammergau Church also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Oberammergau Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing