We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Ice but not the most beautiful”

Oberammergau Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$293.45*
and up
Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This massive church is frequented visited by Catholic pilgrims.
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Worth to visit this church if you want a good taste of this famous decoration. We however preferred the Wies one located in Steingaden not so far away which is much better maintained.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Xrayline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ceiling paintings"
in 6 reviews
"passion play"
in 18 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"rococo style"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful interior"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful town"
in 6 reviews
"amazing paintings"
in 3 reviews
"organ loft"
in 3 reviews
"take your breath away"
in 2 reviews
"tall tower"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 3 reviews
"gold"
in 10 reviews
"decoration"
in 11 reviews
"headstones"
in 6 reviews
"art"
in 10 reviews
"paul"
in 4 reviews
"mass"
in 4 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were directed here by our tour guide, and what a delight it is. The plain outside belies a beautiful rococo interior. This is the church where the vow was made in 1633 to perform the Passion Play every 10 years.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

The art in this church is amazing. What I LOVED is that they had a device which told you about what you saw and history of the church in English and other languages. So helpful! Do not miss this church, it held me spellbound.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

I visited this church on a rainy day in June.After passing through a grave yard a very old handcrafted door opens into the church.This is a Catholic Church,beautiful Wal paintings with a cupola painted and a Chrystal chandelier hanging down on a long chain.The seats are made of pine and you can tell they have been used for centuries.The altar is decorated in gold and silver and you can tell this is a very rich church.A very nice organ oversees the church and it powerful sound is nice to listen too.It is well worth it to take some time to visit this gem.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank gfrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Absolutely beautiful church. We like to visit churches in the towns that we travel through and this is one of the most wonderful ones. A fabulous church in a small but inviting town.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bondville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oberammergau Church also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Oberammergau Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing