We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
26
22
9
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
22
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolcomfortable bedhotel is situatedsmall hotelmailboxsaunatownbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is situated just 700m from the town centre, and has 19 rooms and reception that is not manned most of the time. My room appeared to be newly refurbished and the decor was a nice mix between pine wood and ceramic tiles. The room was cosy with access to the garden, and the double bed and duvets were very comfortable. There was a discomforting odour in the room, most likely from a defect airlock in the drain, and the smell was unpleasant when the bedroom windows were closed. The TV had multiple channels, but none were working in English. I raised this issue with the management, but it was not fixed during my stay. I was also missing several light-bulbs in the room, but these were replaced, when I pointed this out. Wifi was adequate, but not fast. Breakfast was good, and I must commend the staff for good service, when I arrived at 09.04 (after breakfast), and they were kind enough to make scrambled eggs for me. The hotel does have its own sauna, which one has to switch on oneself, but it did not go over 76 degrees.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toreiraq06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Whilst the room was comfortable and clean, the window did not close properly, which was not ideal with a baby, the hair dryer did not work and we had to ask for a plug for the bath (which we had to wait until the evening as the hotel is not manned during the day). The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. There was maybe around 12 guests in the hotel, yet the breakfast was cold, limited and depleted fast. It was not replenished as the mornings went on, therefore if you came to breakfast anytime after 0730, there was very little left. The coffee was obviously made at 0630 when breakfast started and the just left for when you arrive. The staff were often not around at this time, they seemed to be in a rush to clean the rooms, rather than be available for guests.
A lot of what is advertised is not available also and the children's play area is not part of the hotel. We understand that this is not their busy time of year, however we come to Oberammergau 3/4 times a year and we felt quite let down by this hotel for the price we paid. We will not return to this hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katyfisher2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights, getting ready for the Koenig Ludwig Lauf XC Skiing race. Upon check-in, we stored our bags and confirmed that the car was allowed to be parked nearby. Due to the ski race, there was limited carpark on site.
Nevertheless, our stay went with no dramas. Our room was on the top floor facing Ettaler Strasse. The view wasn't too bad as the whole area was surrounded by mountains. The location was strategic as Oberammergau was small and easy to walk into the middle of town.
Breakfast in the morning was convenient because we had to ski so we just piled up on the food available! So did everyone. ;)
Another little surprise was the sauna! You'd have to wait for 30 minutes for the sauna to heat up before you could use it. The sauna actually got quite hot, good for recovery after a ski race.
The whole complex looked a little tired. The window/door hinge in the room was almost falling off that I tried not to open it at all. The carpet could be upgraded, as some other little detailing.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay in one of the most beautiful little Bavarian town of Oberammergau.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel location is good if you are traveling with car. Hotel offer free parking. Rooms are big and some of them have even balcony with nice views. Hotel is clean and everything work, but if you are looking luxury this is not for you. Negative things were terrible pillows and shower water pressure.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank HenriK516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel off of the main road into town.

It is right outside of town, but within walking distance to everything in town.

The rooms at spacious and comfortable, must have access to the large balcony of the hotel.

The views are great from this hotel.

On the morning they have an excellent breakfast, not a lot of choices but just enough.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Great value, quality.

Definitely will recommend and will stay here next time I am in town.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Frederick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews