We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price / quality, nice staff, but very poor internet”
Review of Hotel Terrassenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terrassenhof
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Bad Wiessee
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I stayed there six night for a conference. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is OK. Room on 3 floor spacious and very clean, street view, but OK! Very silent, only in the early morning cars. Internet is very poor, bad and lost connections. Should be improved!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johan GP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha T, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Terrassenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Dear Johan,

first of all many thanks for the time you have taken to evaluate your stay.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your praising of the staff.

As to the internet:
we have the strongest connection that is possible in the area. However, especially with a large conference it can happen that at times it is a bit slower, when many people try to access at the same time.
We sincerely apologize for that.

Best Regards,

Your Terrassenhof team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

Spent two weeks here, the first being part of an organised walking group and the second as a private guest. Given this, I was amazed that I was given a room with a seriously leaking shower cubicle that flooded the bathroom floor on each occasion! Yes, they did supply extra bath mats and towels to enable me to mop up the water, but it's not what I expected from a 4* hotel.

It took three days to get a non slip bath mat, and bearing in mind there were no grab rails in the shower, this was not ideal either.

The hairdryer is fitted in the bathroom, so I had to be really careful when using it to avoid electrocuting myself with all the excess water around. The UK's HSE would've had palpitations having witnessed this!

Bearing in my a previous TA member had mentioned the flooding shower cubicles in a few rooms some weeks ago, it seems incredible that the hotel continues to allocate them to guests - especially ones staying two weeks.

I did get to move rooms after a week (fully booked before then I was told), and all was fine after that (room 206), but not an ideal start to a holiday when we were lucky enough to have temp's of 30 + so regular showers were needed after long walks.

Dietary issues were also a problem - having told the company on booking of my allergy to cheese, then contacting the hotel direct a couple of weeks in advance of arriving, and then again on the first night in the restaurant. I was served mascarpone one evening and then my lunch box contained a cheese roll - having said on pre-ordering it that I couldn't eat cheese! It's not a relaxing, leisurely meal when you constantly have to check if your allergy item is contained in it.

These things apart, the staff - especially Leo on reception, and a couple of super waiters, were friendly and helpful. The spa was good, once the Jacuzzi had been repaired, although the pool water jets never did work. Everywhere was clean and tidy.

The food was very good too, especially the huge salad bar and breakfast selections. The outdoor sunny lawn was super on hot days and swimming in the lake divine!

So, for the sake of a few problems that should be easy to resolve, this could be an outstanding hotel. Management just need to work on these issues and stop putting guests in sub standard rooms, hoping they won't notice.

Room Tip: Room 206 was a nice single with dual aspect. Avoid 225 unless you want to mop up your shower water e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha T, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Terrassenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Kim,

first of all many thanks for the time you have taken to write such a detailled review of your time with us.

We appreciate the explicite mentioning of our friendly staff and the quality of the food and we apologize once again sincerely about the glitches with the dietary and allergy issue.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our place very much in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very attractive hotel. Our room was huge with separate seating area and a large terrace/balcony, with partial view of the lake. Very quiet. A convenient fridge with some complimentary soft drinks. The breakfast was the best I've ever had, with loads of choice. Dinner each night was very good. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha T, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Terrassenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Rosalie,

first of all many thanks you have taken the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your time so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This is a large hotel on the lake . Most of staff are friendly but hotel was reluctant to solve the problems with my room . Several big functions a week are held so it is very busy and rather short staffed e.g. No drinks before 7 in the bar. Very variable rooms - some lovely , others old , tatty and noisy

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank academic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha T, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Terrassenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

many thanks you have taken the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We greatly appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of staff.

We sincerely regret we were not able to solve the issue with your room, but cannot in detail respond to it, as we are at this point not aware of the respective difficulty.
Please be assured that we are always trying our utmost to make our guests happy.

Our bar always opens at 7pm. Before that time we happily welcome our guests in the restaurant for a drink.

As to the rooms, we are currently undergoing a complete overhaul, which however will take some time with the size of the hotel.

More rooms will be done in November, and even more beginning of next year.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed at the Terrassenhof as part of an organised walking holiday with a group of 16. Accordingly, our experiences may well differ from the more typical guest, particularly as it concerns dinners as we had limited choice each evening. The main points I wanted to make are (1) the location is terrific, (2) staff were great, in particular Leo on the front desk, (3) the views and its outdoor terrace are excellent, (4) the room we had was large and comfortable but the mattress on the bed and the pillows were not great, (5) the balcony off the room had great views and was a great place to relax at the end of the day and watch folks walk along the boardwalk, swim or sail, (6) food was fine but not gourmet - the breakfast buffet was OK but never different (although made to order eggs, omelettes and bacon were also available) and the dinner dishes were generally at least passable and occasionally very good except for the desserts which were always of a "wobbly" variety (think mousses and aspic) and this was disappointing in the land of strudel and kuchen. Now on the latter point, I am sure being in a group resulted in the choice for health or finances to restrict us to the wobblies and I would not think that general guests would have been as underwhelmed on this front as was I. Accordingly, I have not allowed my dislike of the desserts to affect the rating given here.

The hotel is located directly on the walking path that surrounds the delightful, smallish Lake Tegernsee and has a series of wings that run perpendicular to the lake. The lake is surrounded by small mountains (say 4,000 to 5,000 feet) and a series of charming villages. Our room was 212 located on (I think) the southern exterior of the hotel with both mountain views and lake views from our large balcony. As noted the bed was not the most comfortable but was not intolerable. Our room was described as a junior suite and was very large with a half set of stairs to our living area with large tv, a refrigerator with daily replenished waters (still, sparkling and fruit varieties), seating for 7 or 8 people plus a console unit for the tv and a raised coffee table. The decor was fairly dated (perhaps the 90s) but well-maintained. The bathroom was large and had a separate tub and shower stall along with dual sinks and a towel warmer and ample storage. So the room was comfortable and was quiet. We stayed for a week and had no issues with storage. The room does not have a safety deposit box, but there is a large unit available off reception that served the purpose.

The bottom line is that I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel and seek the same room if ever I return to the Tegernsee area since it is so well located and provides a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with both lakeside and mountain views - not those facing the main street (although tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha T, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Terrassenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear TorontoTraveller,

first of all many thanks you have taken the time to write such a detailled review of your stay with us.

We are very delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to return.

Please enquire about a change of mattress, as we are able to provide harder or softer varieties.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time, we are looking forward to welcoming you again very much.

With Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Wiessee
2.4 km away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
461 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Alpensonne
Hotel Alpensonne
#8 of 28 in Bad Wiessee
105 reviews
2.7 km away
Der Westerhof Hotel
Der Westerhof Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tegernsee
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Lago
Hotel Villa Lago
#3 of 28 in Bad Wiessee
31 reviews
3.5 km away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
897 reviews
2.1 km away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrassenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrassenhof

Address: Adrian-Stoop-Str. 50, 83707 Bad Wiessee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Wiessee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bad Wiessee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bad Wiessee
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Wiessee
#5 Spa Hotel in Bad Wiessee
Price Range: €108 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terrassenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Terrassenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terrassenhof Bad Wiessee, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing