We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Heidelberg”
Review of Le Coq

Le Coq
Ranked #33 of 525 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

One of my favourite places in Heidelberg. I went already several times and I keep recommending it to other people. It's a cozy place, perfect for a romantic dinner. You can readily call them to book a table, but it didn't seem completely full when I've been there. The stuff is friendly and well organised. The menu is not very big, but there's always a special menu of the day available. There's a big selection of drinks.

Thank Justyna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017

Le Coq is a very nice restaurant which serves typical french food and has the real feel of a restaurant in France. We, two persons, went there without a reservation on a weekday. We were offered a nice table at the window. The seating is typical french and may therefore be a bit too narrow. In general, the interior of the restaurant is very cosy and one feels as in a restaurant in France. Service was very attentive, friendly and prompt. The food, we had two courses, was all very delicious. Depending on the dish, portion sizes vary, with some being lavish others being sparse, just like in France. All together, we were pleasently surprised and enjoyed our visit very much. We will definitely revisit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PooleyKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Not quite living up to the hype tonight. Nobody lit the candle light. No salt and pepper supplied.
Beuf slowcooked in casserole was 1/3 chewy, 1/3 fat and 1/3 delicious. Not good enough.
Potato puré very nice and smooth.
Ambience still very nice.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisdeBoerg, Inhaber at Le Coq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Kim H,

I am very sorry that you were disappointed. Actually we get for our boeuf bourgignon, which is stewed for several hours and countless liters of wine, always good reviews.

Nevertheless, thank you and best regards,
Kristina Riedinger
Le Coq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

On a recent business trip to Heidelberg, I hosted my colleagues for dinner. We had a mixed group from all over Europe and all expressed there satisfaction at the great meal we enjoyed.

I sampled the boujabes and it was both fragrant and fresh, the seafood was firm yet succulent.

The other members of the party had a mix of steaks and French speciality dishes that all received our French colleagues stamp of approval.

The staff where attentive and well spoken in English, German and French and the wine list was up scratch with our Belgian wine fanatic.

Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisdeBoerg, Inhaber at Le Coq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Merlin K,

Thank you for the good rating - we are pleased about it and hope to welcome you again soon in our restuarant.

Best regards,
Kristin Riedinger
Le Coq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

After 4 weeks in Heidelberg, were several restaurants was tested we finnally found an eveneing to visit ,Le Coq. The menu was handed out, and "todays specials" was presented separately. From this moment of it all went wrong.. When ordering the food a new waitress showed up taking our order. We ordered a Frence spesiality (snails) for the starter, and two of the courses from todays special for main course. For the food we also ordered a botle of Pinot Noir red wine and still water. The wine and the water came quickly after the order was made. Then shortly after this the main courses was served, and this time of the first waitress, and not the one taking our order. We then asked for our snails, she appologiste and told us she didnt know anything about it. The main corses was put on our table, and nothing was done to correct the missing starters. It was obviously that the restaurant was missing routines for how to handle such issues. For us this is not a waitress problem but a management problem. After some time, and after completed most of the main course, the waitress taking our order showed up and appollogised for forgetting our starters, but we should get a discount on coffe/dessert. We ordered creme brule from the dessert menu, and asked if they had Irish coffe as well. The waitress told us they could make this, they had Bailys and coffe and could mix it. We then told her that There was no Baily in Irish coffe but whiskey, coffe, cream and suger. No problem they could do this. The dessert and the Irish Coffe was served together, the dessert was by the way excellent, and the only thing about this meal which was good, the so called Irish coffe was deffenetly not Irish Coffe but something else (never tasted it before). We asked for the bill and got the highest bill ever during our stay in Heidelberg, and no discount as promissed was made. We paid and left Le Coq after one of our most strange restaurant experiences ever. The food was not more than average except for the dessert, lack of management routines in the service was obvious. There is a lot to do if this restaurant should come to the level We expecting it to be.

4  Thank AEngevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisdeBoerg, Inhaber at Le Coq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear AEngevik,

Thank you for the honest words and the constructive criticism that we want to take to heart. I know that I did not attend that evening, but the service told me about it. Of course I am sorry that things did not go well at your table and it is often the case that the next one follows after a faux pas, when "the stone started rolling". However, from our other excellent reviews on this portal, you can see that this must have been an absolute exception, for which we apologize again.
Nevertheless, I think to my great girls from the service, who are always very friendly and polite and do a really good job.

Best regards,
Kristina Riedinger (Mangement :-)
Le Coq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Coq also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Le Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing