We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Ristorante Papi

Ristorante Papi
Ranked #86 of 507 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Set in the Heidelberg Old Town , right on Heidelberger marketplace , we welcome our guests with views of the historic Heiliggeist Church. PAPI offers you the best of Italian cuisine. Not just pizza and pasta , but also meat and fish dishes can be cooked. See for yourself and visit us ! Important : please book in advance ! Grazie, PAPI
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I'm glad we happened on this restaurant - stopped for a glass of wine and was encouraged to stay by Francesco. I'm so glad I had not checked trip advisor beforehand as this was such a great experience. Candles everywhere provide a cosy atmosphere, good "off menu" wine selection. We shared the cold antipasti plate - fresh and varied. My husband had sliced steak with red wine sauce and I had gambas with spaghetti. Service was simply wonderful - Loos clean. No negatives from us and I never write on TA, just felt I needed to give a varied viewpoint. Ciao Francesco and team

Thank hobnob97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapiHeidelberg69, Leiter Front Office at Ristorante Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für ihre Bewertung.

Wir freuen uns auf ihren nächsten Besuch.

Herzlichst,
Ihr PAPI-Team

Dear Guest,

thank you for your recommendation.
We are looking forward for your next visit.

All the best,
PAP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We accidentally ended up at Papi's but what a wonderful surprise it was! Good staff, fabulous whine and food and live entertainment with a big smile by Papi himself. It felt as if we were part of a big Italian family. We had a splendid evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renatecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapiHeidelberg69, Leiter Front Office at Ristorante Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für ihre Bewertung.

Wir freuen uns auf ihren nächsten Besuch.

Herzlichst,
Ihr PAPI-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We went with some friend for a pizza, several persons suggested. I called in the afternoon to reserve, but reservation have been not done. The waiter/manager was not able to speak neither German nor English, only Turkish. After we order to drink (he understood "mezzo mix" instead "orange juice") and decided for a pizza, he told us that pizza maker machine was broken. He proposed a discount on our orders just for excuse himself to not advice before. We order grilled turkey, but no taste at all. No bread available. Prices are very very expensive, and quality and service are very very poor. I do not suggest at all. Away.

1  Thank GiacomoD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Despite the plethora of negative reviews on TA we had been past and sat in the square opposite a few times and it looked very nice. So we booked a table inside for the evening as it had been quite cold in the evenings. Took a few minutes to find the reservation but it's Italian not an efficient German place. Menus bought in few minutes and drinks ordered and arrived not with greatest speed, but we there for the evening so fine. I had veal in white wine and roasted rosemary potatoes instead of pasta and no worries with the change. My partner had saltimbocca. Both were piping hot when arrived which is great after a few places serving luke warm food. Few glasses of wine. Place filling up gradually and outside was busy and only two waiters at start of evening then another appeared but service was fine. Manager came and offered us a grappa on the house but has a wine instead. And yes he was Italian. Very polite and nice young man. I don't understand negative comments. If you want a cheap quick pizza there are scores of restaurants within 5 minutes walk. This is a very good Italian restaurant not a pizza house.

Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapiHeidelberg69, Leiter Front Office at Ristorante Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für ihre Bewertung.

Wir freuen uns auf ihren nächsten Besuch.

Herzlichst,
Ihr PAPI-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The location is the best thing about this restaurant. It is located in a great part of the pedestrian zone, where you can sit and people watch, relax and just soak up everything that Heidelberg has to offer.

Unfortunately the service is slow, they do not accept credit cards and the food is mediocre at best. Despite being not too busy (around 2 pm) on a weekday it took far longer than normal for the waiter to acknowledge our presence there. To try and speed matters up I even grabbed a menu myself so that I would be ready to order as soon as someone came to the table.

My wife had the Minestrone soup, which looked really awful. It was most likely heated up from a can. I had a simple penne pasta with tuna, which also tasted like store bought sauce. There were no spices or herbs to speak of or anything that would have made this special whatsoever. The soup, pasta and one cup of tea set us back just under 23 euros.

Even in a touristy town you can do far better. I'm just glad we didn't order one of the more expensive menu items. Just to top off an already subpar experience, I wanted to pay by credit card and was told they did not accept them. This is probably my fault for not checking ahead of time, but it's hard to believe that there are still places in the 21st century that only accept cash. The waitress didn't even thank me for being there. Perhaps this had something to do with the fact that I was standing next to the cash register to ensure it wouldn't take me 15 minutes to receive my bill.

There are plenty of other great places to eat in Heidelberg. Find one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Papi also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Ristorante Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing