We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
83
192
156
55
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
192
156
55
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business district four star hotel hotel chain budget price free wifi including breakfast old town buffet style rooms are modern nice bathroom train station euros kilometers cabs sauna autobahn europe
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked this hotel for a one night stay visiting Heidelberg. It is one bus ride away from town center, although at busy times it may take up to 30 minutes to get there plus 10 minutes walk from the stop. We arrived before the check in times and did not expect to get to the room only to leave the bags, which we did. The receptionist did not give any specific information about the facilities but said we can check in any time after 3 pm. We got back around 9 pm and the evening receptionist was very friendly but did not inform us about the hotel facilities. Later we found out there was an option to use the sauna until 10 pm but it was too late. We would have appreciate this information in advance so we can make use if this option.
At the same time, we were very happy with the room - clean, cosy and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Dear guest,
thank you for choosing the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg and for your review. Guest comments are extremely useful to improve our service in the future. It is our goal to make each guest feel special. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again.
Best regards Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

On our way back from Italy we stayed overnight in this Hotel. Quit close to the highway, easy to reach and with sufficient parking facilities. Good room, with good beds, a fine (and clean) bathroom. Breakfast starts at 6.30 so an early departure is possible

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VKees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Katja Franke
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

there are actually two leonardo hotels in Heidelberg (attention Virtual Tourist!) the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center, located in the center and the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg, located at the outskirts of the City Center, about 3 kilometers away from the other Leonardo Hotel in the City Center. This hotel chain is rated a four star.

We Stayed at the Leonardo Hotl here in Pleikartsförster Str, near the outskirts, at the Business District of Heidelber as this hotel is popular with the Tour Companies (like Trafalgar, Globus, Cosmos, Insight, etc) like the one we had (Globus). If you are in a tour group package and are staying in Heidelberg for a day, this hotel will suffice, however if you plan to have a two or three day jaunt in Heidelberg and nearby areas and does not have a car, then stay at the other Heidelberg Hotel in the City Center.

The Hotel is composed of three floors and has 167 rooms and suites and it has a spa, some conference rooms, business center, a heated swimming pool and a bar area and a single restaurant that also serves the complimentary buffet breakfast during the morning. The nice thing about this hotel is that it has a vending machine inside so you can buy assorted snacks, bottled water, beers, wine and juices without leaving the property and also there is a convenience store at the gas station beside it where you can buy more items you need.

the disadvantage here is that the aircondition is set at 24 degrees celsius so that you need to open your windows if you want it to be more colder in the spring season or summer season during the night as the outside air is colder!
check in time is 3:00 pm and check out is 12:00 pm
Price of a comfort (de luxe room) a day for two (including breakfast) is 130 Euros.

like typical rooms in europe, this rooms here are small at only 28 square meters for a comfort double room (de luxe). the rooms are modern and again rather small but they have you usual amenities like free wifi, toiletries (again without tootbrush and toothpaste), a set aircondition at 24 degrees celsius (not good), fridge, led tv, in room safe, hair dryer. there is no coffee maker or ironing board here.

Use your universal plug adaptors as they only have standard european two round pin plugs here.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is from 6:30 am to 10:30 am everyday and the food is rather good

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelrQ8179NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Dear Michael,
thank you for choosing the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg and for your review. Guest comments are extremely useful to improve our service in the future. It is our goal to make each guest feel special. We just want to point out that we do nor have a swimming pool neither a complimentary breakfast. The aircondition can be set down to 21 degrees Celsius - see instructions in your room or contact reception for help. We would have been glad to assist you.
Best regards Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Check in process disjointed and clumsy. Rooms extremely small and limited in facilities and functionality. Unable to get air conditioning to work and could not leave window open as room was situated on the ground floor. Bar fridge in room was locked so could not be used. To access the safe it was necessary to lie flat out on the floor with a torch to read the instructions. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Evening meal as part of a tour group was underwhelming. Hotel at least 20 minutes by car from town centre so not at all convenient . Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Dear David,
thank you for your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg and for your review. We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for you and our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I can´t say that we enjoyed staying at this hotell.

First off all the receptionists are polite and professional, but that´s almost everything the hotel got going for it in terms of positive things.

We got a room on the 1st floor (the ground floor is floor 0) in the part of the hotel which had no elevator, so we had to carry our suitcases. The room were overlooking the back part of the hotell, so we were woken up before 7 by some utility truck which had engine on for 20-30 minutes.

The restaurant/bar of the hotell is mostly bad. We were around 6-8 guests in totalt at the restaurant/bar that evening. The 2 waiters working there shouldn't be working there at all. But it´s not their fault, it´s whoever hired them that should be fired! If you hire someone who are not skilled at their job, at least have the decency to send them to some workshops.

Whenever you order a beverage, it takes around 15 min to arrive. Obviously it does not take 15 min to tap a glass of beer. The waiters did not know how to make a drink, so the cook had to do it for them.

Food was actually very good. The only fully capable person in the restaurant is the cook. When the bill came, the waiter couldn´t wait for me to finish my drink. I had to go with him to the reception immediately to pay the bill. So it´s ok for me to wait 15 mins for a beer which takes 30 sec to tap? That's just rude.

So to whomever runs the restaurant: "Either do better or just quit! You are horrible at hiring and managing other people, at least the way it is now!".

So all in all? We will not stay at this hotel again and neither should you.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. But if you do, ask for the room overlooking the front yard and with elevator to your floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha12344321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews