We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Check in process disjointed and clumsy. Rooms extremely small and limited in facilities and functionality. Unable to get air conditioning to work and could not leave window open as room was situated on the ground floor. Bar fridge in room was locked so could not be used. To access the safe it was necessary to lie flat out on the floor with a torch to read the instructions. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Evening meal as part of a tour group was underwhelming. Hotel at least 20 minutes by car from town centre so not at all convenient . Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Dear David,
thank you for your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg and for your review. We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for you and our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

I can´t say that we enjoyed staying at this hotell.

First off all the receptionists are polite and professional, but that´s almost everything the hotel got going for it in terms of positive things.

We got a room on the 1st floor (the ground floor is floor 0) in the part of the hotel which had no elevator, so we had to carry our suitcases. The room were overlooking the back part of the hotell, so we were woken up before 7 by some utility truck which had engine on for 20-30 minutes.

The restaurant/bar of the hotell is mostly bad. We were around 6-8 guests in totalt at the restaurant/bar that evening. The 2 waiters working there shouldn't be working there at all. But it´s not their fault, it´s whoever hired them that should be fired! If you hire someone who are not skilled at their job, at least have the decency to send them to some workshops.

Whenever you order a beverage, it takes around 15 min to arrive. Obviously it does not take 15 min to tap a glass of beer. The waiters did not know how to make a drink, so the cook had to do it for them.

Food was actually very good. The only fully capable person in the restaurant is the cook. When the bill came, the waiter couldn´t wait for me to finish my drink. I had to go with him to the reception immediately to pay the bill. So it´s ok for me to wait 15 mins for a beer which takes 30 sec to tap? That's just rude.

So to whomever runs the restaurant: "Either do better or just quit! You are horrible at hiring and managing other people, at least the way it is now!".

So all in all? We will not stay at this hotel again and neither should you.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. But if you do, ask for the room overlooking the front yard and with elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha12344321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Very expensive breakfast and uncomfortable beds.not very close to centrum. Parking is not free but 8 euros a day is a good price. Staff is good. A/C is working very well. Would recommend this hotel for the price value.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seckin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Would recommend this hotel for the staff, quiet location and general easy going atmosphere. Stayed 6 nights and had a great time.Good breakfast selection and fresh food which is typical for the Leonardo!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EuroGypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

First impresion : very bad, the entrance is from a gas station and the smell very, very bad: not sure if was because of the gas station or the full sewerage.
Second impresion : in the room the fridge was closed even out was 35 degrees.
And the last impresion: not fridge but yes for cockroaches.
So, if I will make an other trip in Heidelberg is for sure this hotel will be not chosen.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
3 km away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
2.2 km away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
2.7 km away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#11 of 75 in Heidelberg
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#55 of 75 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
2.7 km away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#7 of 75 in Heidelberg
487 reviews
1.9 km away
hotelo Heidelberg
hotelo Heidelberg
#48 of 75 in Heidelberg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Address: Pleikartsfoerster Str. 101, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: €50 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes by public transport from the Old Town and the Heidelberg Castle the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg is a great location for those visiting Heidelberg for travel needs. This Heidelberg hotel is easy accessible from the highway A5 and just 5 minutes distance to the main station. Companies like SAP Walldorf, Heidelberger Druck, Henkel and Wild Werke are located in our direct neighbourhood. Relax in our modern business room featuring amenities like a quiet room location, a large working desk and free wireless internet access. Start your day with a healthy breakfast which contains a large variety of organic food. Experience a high quality room service or indulge yourself after a hard work day with a fine dining in one of our two restaurants. Our team is looking forward welcoming you. We can help make your day so join our fitness area and unwind in the sauna. We are here - ready with all you need to make your trip to Heidelberg a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing