We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
60
66
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
66
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco friendly hotelminute tram rideair conditioningone nightvery nice hotelproofingalbanbakerynoisefreiburg
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Picked this hotel on the edge of Freiburg as looked like an interesting option compared to the chains, and fully support the wider project, recruitment policy etc.

Room was really nice, with the requested balcony that essentially looked out to the Black Forest.

Tram stop directly in front was perfect for getting into town, and the area itself was nice for a potter around.

In broad terms we had a really good stay and I would recommend. However, the reason for the 3/5 review is for the following only:

1. We had some really strange incidents with sound proofing, where voices from other rooms would be really loud in ours, even when the source wasn't being noisy. They just seemed to travel into our room, to the extent of waking us up one night, when someone was simply having a phone conversation somewhere nearby.

2. This is a pet dislike, so not everyone would care, but twice, on arrival at the hotel (including the very first time) we were met by staff smoking at the door. I always find this unprofessional, and was just a bit annoying when arriving with a kid, to a Green/Eco hotel.

I actually wouldn't really care about either of these things if it was a bit cheaper, but as we paid the same price as the more established hotels in town, one does hope for these things to not happen.

But to reiterate - it is a good hotel, a great project, and do recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JimmyHuntspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenCityHotelVauban, Rezeptionistin at Green City Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jimmy Huntspill,

thank you very much for your feedback.
We appreciate that you took the time to write it.

Nice to read that you liked the balcony and our hotel concept. We apologize that you couldn't enjoy your stay in its entirety due to the noisy room. Next time please contact us at the reception and we will see if we can do something about it.

We hope, we can convince you even more maybe next time.

All the best,

Green City Hotel Vauban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We were in town to visit our daughter, a student at the university, living in the Vauban area. This was a very nice hotel. Clean, neat, breakfast available, and also a bakery, grocery store & bank very close by. The tram stop was right out front. Very convenient, especially with our Welcome Card for transportation. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenCityHotelVauban, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Green City Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guests, we are very pleased that you enjoyed it with us and in Vauban. Your daughter lives in a great city and we hope she likes her studies. We would like to welcome you both (three) again and send you many sunny greetings from the Black Forest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Only a one night stop here and kindly paid for by a business client/ friend and colleague.
Hotel is very nice and all you would expect if your in Freiburg on business.
Loads of great ash everywhere and loved the windows.
Warm, friendly, pleasant, not a romantic couples place but good none the less

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenCityHotelVauban, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Green City Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Mr. Martin c, thank you for your feedback. Even if only a short stop, so you liked it with us and we hope to welcome you back again. Until then: best greetings from the Green City Hotel Vauban Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I can't recommend Green City Hotel enough. It is located in the Vauban section of town, which is super friendly and progressive. It is also located right on the Strassenbahn which allows you to travel downtown or pretty much anywhere in town very easily.

Charlotte from the staff was incredibly helpful in meeting all of our needs during our stay. The breakfast is delicious and the hotel is super clean and modern.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenCityHotelVauban, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Green City Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Vinay K, thank you very much for your great feedback. You have felt comfortable with us and that is the best praise we can wish for. Your appreciation to Charlotte I gladly pass on, she will be especially happy :-) All the best greetings send you the Green City Hotel Vauban Team (translated by Google)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Excellent facility only a short tram ride from the city centre (12mins - very frequent service) with stop literally next to the entrance door. . Staff are friendly and the hotel has all the required amenities. Breakfast buffet is plentiful offering you a decent choice. Very relaxed atmosphere as this place tends to attract the more environmentally-conscious traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews