We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
This gallery houses temporary exhibitions to its pot luck

Its a good space for exhibiting, but pot luck as to whether there is something on worth seeing when... read more

Reviewed 20 November 2016
PerTheCat
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Charming small museum for modern art

We entered the museum on a Sunday. Very inviting small museum. They had just opened a special... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2016
BeachStone2C
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
9
16
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
16
7
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Its a good space for exhibiting, but pot luck as to whether there is something on worth seeing when you go. When we went it wasn't that great - a few intriguing exhibits, but on the whole not particularly worth the visit. However a museum pass is only a few euros for the day and covers about 6 or 7 museums in the town so its worth a quick look.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank PerTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We entered the museum on a Sunday. Very inviting small museum. They had just opened a special exhibition for Herbert Meier including his incredible collection of 500 watercolors. The same 7 euro ticket was valid for other museums as well.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank BeachStone2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Located within the old town, the museum has a small modern and contemporary art collection. However, it makes up for it by mounting interesting special exhibits, like the current "Istanbul-Freiburg" show (which by the way, also depicts the lack of freedom in Turkey).

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

I love this museum in Freiburg. It is charming and unexpected. It has a diverse selection of art and I have always enjoyed going there. It is a perfect activity on a rainy day and you will not have to plan a whole day to do so. As others mentioned, it is on the smaller side so if you take your time it may take 2 to 3 hours; if you don't take your time you can easily do it within 2 hours.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Anitalein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Usually I accompany my husband to modern art galleries and find something I like to focus on. However we both failed to engage with this museum. The changing exhibitions may just mean we didn't stick lucky, but being small and only a few strange displays, it didn't hit the spot for us.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews