We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and resturent”
Review of Gasthaus zum Kreuz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed for three nights and had two rooms. Both rooms were great. Clean, comfortable, lots of space. We agree with the other reviewers about the breakfasts. The staff we met did not speak much English. But then we don't speak any German. However we all managed to work out what we needed and what to do. There are a number of restaurants in Kirchzartner about 15 minutes drive away. Reception are happy to make a booking (necessary for Fridays and the weekends). There is a bus stop outside the hotel that takes you the tram terminus (line 1) which takes you directly to the centre of Freiburg. About 20 minutes in total. Buy a 24 hour ticket for 5 people if there are three or more of you - cheapest way to get into town and you can use it multiple times during the day. The buses and trams run frequently into the evening.

The restaurant was only open on the Wednesday evening we were there. Reception will make a reservation for you - necessary. The menu is in German (which you'd sort of expect wouldn't you) and we needed help to understand it. The staff were happy to explain the menu. Very good food, beautifully cooked and substantial portions. Go hungry. We had three mains only, two large beers and two glasses of wine. The meal came to €100. A little pricey but worth it. We think we didn't eat much breakfast the following day.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Davesoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

We are a family of 5 so had to book 2 rooms. We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful (his English is fantastic). It was lovely and quiet and everyone slept well. The breakfast buffet was generous and everything was lovely and fresh. It is a little dated but this didn't really matter as we didn't come to spend all our time in the hotel! Freiburg is a lovely city, with lots of fantastic places to eat! The Saturday morning market was a real hit, especially the bratwurst!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKfamily471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

For decades now the Kreuz has been one of Freiburg's unlikely gourmet restaurants. Michael Hug, third generation innkeeper is also a highly trained gourmet chef. Both local specialties and modern alternatives are prepared to a high level of quality and are expertly served by his experienced staff. The traditional low-ceilinged dining room is usually packed with Freiburgers in the know who drive a few minutes to Kappel to enjoy Hug's cookery. Visitors to Freiburg who find their way to the Kreuz will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms are modest but clean. Rooms 17, 18 and 19 are a little bigger and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Found this based on location and trip advisor reviews and have to say very happy with stay.

One of the great strengths of this place is the staff: they were very friendly, and even though not all speak English, they still managed to answer all our questions and more. The little extras such free cake and gumi bears in the foyer just make it that little bit more special and welcoming. The breakfast was great as well, very traditional German and delicious (yogurt with cereal, brotchen and cheese etc). There is also a table tennis table and some weights equipment and a jacuzzi in a small room in the basement (Jacuzzi out of order though).

Would definately recommend for a stay in the Black Forrest but you will need a car if you don't want to mess about with buses etc. Parking wasn't a problem. There is also free wi fi which is of a moderate speed.

The only reason this did not get a 5* review is that the rooms are a little dated, the jacuzzi was out of order and the restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday which we never got chance to try unfortunately. Other than that, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LouisPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

The dining room is very twee and pretty. One waiter (the owner) does it all but he is very good. Big portions, good food. Anything pork and you get two pork loins plus sides which always includes a separate side salad. Closed on Mondays. Gets busy but worth waiting at the bar for. Mostly German diners, few French, English rare.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank frodosring08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
9.7 km away
Hirschengarten Hotel
Hirschengarten Hotel
#38 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
67 reviews
6.1 km away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
8 km away
Bischofslinde
Bischofslinde
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Hotel Zum Schiff
Hotel Zum Schiff
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
104 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
307 reviews
9.7 km away
Bierhaeusle Hotel-Restaurant
Bierhaeusle Hotel-Restaurant
#17 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus zum Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus zum Kreuz

Address: Grosstalstr. 28 | Kleintalstr. 6, 79117 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: €97 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus zum Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthaus zum Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Zum Kreuz Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing