We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Great Location, lovely hotel - request a room away from the lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location, lovely hotel - request a room away from the lift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have just completed a three night stay at the Aigle des Neiges in Val. We paid 180 euros a night for a standard room but recieved an upgrade to the next level of room. The hotel was good value.

The staff were all exceptional, attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the spa, it was end of season which helps but at not point did the pool or spa feel crowded. The ski valet was great and the location is perfect to access the pistes and the town. The bar JACK was lovely to relax in with a great pianist, open fire, modern yet homely atmosphere. We had breakfast one morning in the hotel, it is adequate although not special. On other days we opted to have breakfast elsewhere but I would use the hotel breakfast for ski convienience only.

The hotel has been done up in a modern alpine style, as with all ski hotels there are a few scuffs but nothing too bad. The service included a turndown service. There is a small car park at 18 euros a day so book ahead.

Our room was near the lift and a service lift, we eventually asked for a room change as the noise from the lift and kitchen below made it difficult to sleep. I would defintley stay again but I would request a room away from the lifts and above level 1.

Rooms in level 3 and above have great views of the mountain - I would ask for this level and to be on the church side of the building if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the lift and service lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges. We are pleased that you found your apartment good value for money and that our staff were very helpful and friendly. We regret that you found your room noisy, and are pleased that you informed our staff of this issue. We always try to relocate customers who are unsatisfied with their room. We hope you will stay with us on your next ski trip to France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    116
    32
    22
    15
See reviews for
122
160
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent a week in the Aigle des Neiges while having a ski holiday in Val d'Isere.
We had two separate standard rooms. These rooms were clean but very compact.
The rooms had very nice bathrooms and beds but the television was useless, the balconies incredibly cramped and the pillows quite uncomfortable. The rooms also had a lot of outside noise if you had a room facing the street.
We found the standard of food at dinner and breakfast very good, with a choice of meat or fish at dinner and lots of choice at breakfast. The hotel states that it has three restaurants to choose from but this is not the case. One is a bar which does not serve meals, and on each night one of the other restaurants were closed or used for functions so we were never given a choice.
All the staff were very friendly and polite.
The bar had live music each night which was fantastic and a real positive compared to other hotels.
The swimming pool was very stylish but a bit too small to handle everyone and a bit cold as well. The spa was very nice but only open to over 18s. There was also no jacuzzi.
Arguably the best thing about the hotel was the location, it was extremely close to the slopes and only a few other hotels can boast this.
The worst thing about the hotel is the value. It is definitely too expensive, but in fairness most hotels in Val d'Isere are like this.
The hotel also had a strong feel that it was running down at the end of the season and that it would soon close for the year.
It is not the best hotel ever but it is adequate for Val d'Isere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namibman_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay in Algle des Neiges. We are pleased you liked the location of the apartments, that that you found your rooms clean, tidy and comfortable and that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your accommodation and its furnishings. Our website and brochure do outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. We have logged your review regarding the choice of restaurants and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams for further review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Im really shocked to have read the last few replies, as we experienced excellent service. We found the hotel extremely clean & staff were very very helpful. Our Room was fine too. The location is very central & the basement ski & boot storage area, was very well organised & exit to the piste was as close as you could possibly get. As with most hotel bars, prices were a little steep. We were on half board & the food was ok but it did get a bit tiresome after a week. Breakfast was very good too, The Spa area, & steam room weer excellent to soothe weary limbs at the end of the day, Would I stay here again? Absolutely, probably the best Ski Hotel ive ever stayed at

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essen1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Do you fancy the following nightmare on your ski-trip:
- pay 300 Euro a night
- a room that has only walls where there should be windows except one of 3' x 3' with a view of the fire escape (and a dead pigeon)
- strangely stained carpet in your bedroom
- dorm furniture
- thread bare towels
- staff that pretends to be helpful but is vindictive of people who raise a concern
If you answer yes to one or all of these, L'aigle des neiges is just the place for you. For the rest of us it is hell on earth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skier198021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Wow...where do I start! Just got back from 4 days/5 nights stay in Val D'isere at Aigle Des Neiges. Ski trips are an expensive business but beware of the 4* hotels offering 4* service. This hotel is a prime example. Things just went from bad to worse. We were shown to our room, down an old, dimly lit, retro decorated, smelly corridor to a box room (supposed to be a superior), again very sparsely and badly furnished. It was tiny! During our stay, the maid service/turn down service only came 3/5 nights. The laundry service (although prompt) returned wet, smelly clothes which obviously had not been put through a proper wash. We were supposed to have a DVD player in the room, but this took them 2 days to put in (i think the manager's own), then they did not provide the correct remote till 1 day later (this remote was consequently taken from our room on the last night by one of the staff when we were out without our permission). The staff were never rude, just always confused and deeply unhelpful. One evening we ordered drinks from the bar...20 mins later we had to go and remind the barman who had forgotten about our order. The breakfast was a good spread, but staff were slow to replenish the various items even after they were asked numerous times. We chose not to eat at the hotel in the evenings. Whilst Restaurant 'Paul' did have a good menu it lacked any sort of atmosphere...the number of times we walked past at 8pm and there was 1 table dining. The spa was also full of children jumping and splashing in the pool. Not the quiet luxury apres ski escape we expected. Our massages were good but I could hear talking outside all the way through. The only 2 positives about this hotel are 1) location! (30 seconds walk from piste) and 2) the guys in the ski shop/boot room (couldnt be more upbeat and helpful). Their staff should take a lesson from these guys, A real credit to the hotel! I haven't gone into all the problems but I can guarantee there are better hotels available for similar or cheaper prices...we stayed in Avenue Lodge last year. 5* quality in comparison to this. Also we checked out the Hotel Tsanteleina 4*. We will probably go there next year. We ate there on the final night and the food was fabulous. Hotel Tsanteleina is like a mini Barme De L'ours. The rooms, spa and bar/restaurant were top quality (we recommend the Superiour Mountain View room).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0utiqueBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 km away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#15 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges

Property: Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Address: Place de l'Eglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old village, the Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges**** at 1800 m high, with its wooden structure and its slate roof, is ideally located just at a few steps from the slopes and Espace Killy olympic downhill ski area. Offering 109 spacious and comfortable rooms, the hotel combines perfectly modernity and tradition in its interior decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Aigle Des Neiges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing