We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dinner at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We arrived on a Friday just for the weekend and had a large superior room overlooking the park, which was very clean and comfortable and we had free wi-fi. We viewed the restaurant menu while in the lift and were excited as this was the typical menu of the Mercure hotels that we have grown to love over the years. But when we saw the actual menu that evening, it was just a small part of it. The restaurant is also closed on Saturday and Sunday. Even the room service menu showed the full list, but this is just available Monday to Thursday, so you are forced to drive somewhere for dinner as no other restaurants within walking distance, so very disappointing for us. We did enjoy our meal, which was very tasty. Restaurant fairly busy, but 1 waitress doing everything, including serving at the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Park
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JanC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Good afternoon,
Thank for your comment. We are happy to read that you enjoyed you stay in our etablishment.
The restaurant was closed for lunch during summer holidays. During the year, it is open all the week excepted Saturday and Sunday for lunch time.
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2015

Very pleasant hotel, slightly dated compared to other Mercure's, but room was clean and airy. Lovely grounds - Parc de L'Europe. Staff were very welcoming and we used the restaurant and bar and found the staff there helpful and pleasant. A bit far from city centre but we did have a car and it was free parking at hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine240254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your lovely comment! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are always trying to improve our services, so we are really happy to see that you spend good time in our etablishment.
We are looking forward to seeing from you!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

Nice clean, well appointed hotel based not quite as near to the city centre as we expected! Don't try and walk, it will take 45 mins but only 12 euros for 4 in a cab. Friendly helpful staff, especially reception who's resturant recommendations were top rate and to be heeded, a great breakfast, high quality, plenty of choice and regularly re-stocked. Only negative preventing the top rating was the bar. As mentioned hotel was a bit out of town, no real choices for entertainment around and the bar closed at 11.30pm without warning or night service! Our livers and wallets are probably all the better but it was a bit disappointing.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Good afternoon,
Thank for your comment! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.
We take into consideration your request about the bar for your next stay in our hotel.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for the next Saracens Rugby Match!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

I really cannot understand some of the negative reviews of this hotel. It is really nice and in a most lovely, quiet street opposite a truly delightful park of some size. We chose a privilege room on the second floor, overlooking the park. It was quiet, very well appointed, with all the extra amenities you could wish for. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room cleaned to a high standard and the bathroom, with shower although in the bath was modern. Whoever reviewed there were not enough power points, couldn't possibly have looked, as there were an extra four under the writing table. The bar and restaurant were open on the Friday evening, but not Saturday and Sunday, which was no problem, firstly as we already knew this, also it is only a five minute drive to the centre of St Etienne, which we walked easily within 40 minutes. I suppose the only slight negative was that you have to pay cash at the bar and not add to room charge. We had dinner in their restaurant, which was excellent and the breakfast the same which lots of fresh choices.
The reception staff were terrific and polite, spoke good English and were most helpful.

Room Tip: A privilege room on higher floor is worth it with view over lovely park.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youandi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for your email.
We are glad to see that you really enjoyed your Stay at Mercure Saint Etienne.
All our staff really appreciate your compliments about services, environement and the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Just checked into my room in this hotel and its awful. For starters the room is dusty and cold.There are stains on the bathroom walls which I cannot even think about let alone describe to you. The decor is dowdy and everything is worn. I can honestly say I will be sleeping in my clothes tonight because I don't want the bed linen to touch me. The girls in reception are very nice and that combined with the snow is the only thing preventing me from walking out the door.

Room Tip: I'm in a privilege room, God help those in a standard one.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour,
C'est avec regret que nous constatons que vous n'avez visiblement pas apprécié votre séjour dans notre établissement.
Concernant votre chambre si celle ci vous déplaisait, notre équipe de réception aurait été ravie de pouvoir vous en fournir une autre répondant mieux à votre demande.
Bien Cordialement,
Nicolas Plékan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Etienne hotels
6.7 km away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
5.3 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#17 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
177 reviews
2.7 km away
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
#4 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
#3 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
206 reviews
2.9 km away
B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu
B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu
#6 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
93 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Terminus du Forez
Hotel Terminus du Forez
#13 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe

Address: rue de Wuppertal, 42100, Saint-Etienne, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Price Range: €70 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5min from the city centre and the Convention Centre near the Mont Pilat Regional Park opposite the Parc de l Europe. Contemporary style. Our restaurant is one of the best in town. Air-conditioned rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing