We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Midi(Saint-Etienne)
US$83
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu(Saint-Etienne)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Cheval Noir(Saint-Etienne)
US$109
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le National(Saint-Etienne)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Continental(Saint-Etienne)
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
54
177
133
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
177
133
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood nights sleepbar and restaurantgrocery storehotel is locatedpleasant staysetsfrance
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Very pleasant hotel, slightly dated compared to other Mercure's, but room was clean and airy. Lovely grounds - Parc de L'Europe. Staff were very welcoming and we used the restaurant and bar and found the staff there helpful and pleasant. A bit far from city centre but we did have a car and it was free parking at hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine240254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your lovely comment! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are always trying to improve our services, so we are really happy to see that you spend good time in our etablishment.
We are looking forward to seeing from you!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

Nice clean, well appointed hotel based not quite as near to the city centre as we expected! Don't try and walk, it will take 45 mins but only 12 euros for 4 in a cab. Friendly helpful staff, especially reception who's resturant recommendations were top rate and to be heeded, a great breakfast, high quality, plenty of choice and regularly re-stocked. Only negative preventing the top rating was the bar. As mentioned hotel was a bit out of town, no real choices for entertainment around and the bar closed at 11.30pm without warning or night service! Our livers and wallets are probably all the better but it was a bit disappointing.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Good afternoon,
Thank for your comment! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.
We take into consideration your request about the bar for your next stay in our hotel.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for the next Saracens Rugby Match!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

I really cannot understand some of the negative reviews of this hotel. It is really nice and in a most lovely, quiet street opposite a truly delightful park of some size. We chose a privilege room on the second floor, overlooking the park. It was quiet, very well appointed, with all the extra amenities you could wish for. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room cleaned to a high standard and the bathroom, with shower although in the bath was modern. Whoever reviewed there were not enough power points, couldn't possibly have looked, as there were an extra four under the writing table. The bar and restaurant were open on the Friday evening, but not Saturday and Sunday, which was no problem, firstly as we already knew this, also it is only a five minute drive to the centre of St Etienne, which we walked easily within 40 minutes. I suppose the only slight negative was that you have to pay cash at the bar and not add to room charge. We had dinner in their restaurant, which was excellent and the breakfast the same which lots of fresh choices.
The reception staff were terrific and polite, spoke good English and were most helpful.

Room Tip: A privilege room on higher floor is worth it with view over lovely park.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youandi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for your email.
We are glad to see that you really enjoyed your Stay at Mercure Saint Etienne.
All our staff really appreciate your compliments about services, environement and the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you!
Best Regards,
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Just checked into my room in this hotel and its awful. For starters the room is dusty and cold.There are stains on the bathroom walls which I cannot even think about let alone describe to you. The decor is dowdy and everything is worn. I can honestly say I will be sleeping in my clothes tonight because I don't want the bed linen to touch me. The girls in reception are very nice and that combined with the snow is the only thing preventing me from walking out the door.

Room Tip: I'm in a privilege room, God help those in a standard one.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour,
C'est avec regret que nous constatons que vous n'avez visiblement pas apprécié votre séjour dans notre établissement.
Concernant votre chambre si celle ci vous déplaisait, notre équipe de réception aurait été ravie de pouvoir vous en fournir une autre répondant mieux à votre demande.
Bien Cordialement,
Nicolas Plékan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

The hotel was not recently decorated but was clean and basic.
The bathroom could have done with a high up mounting point for the shower head.
The restaurant was excellent with tasty and varied food on offer for both dinner and breakfast, they did have a good selection of local specialities on offer, the cheese being particularly good.
Our first choice of wine was not available but we got a free upgrade to a better bottle.
Check in and out was efficient with being special, car parking was ample but not particularly well lit.....................

Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
Thank cleughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Directeur général at Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Good Afternoon,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and note that you specially appreciate the restaurant.
We managed to work with local producers, serving fresh and local products.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in St Etienne.
Best Regards
Nicolas Plekan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews