We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
85
23
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
23
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean marie hosts basement megeve slopes snow mountains chef
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

I used to live in this area, and I am now living in Australia. When you have to fly 20K km for a memorable stay with your family, you do not choose your hotel lightly. Grande d'Arly is my choice. We came 10 years ago, and the standards have not changed: excellence through and through! My son was impressed with the magnificent fireplace in the main area, the rooms are impeccably clean and homely, as for the food (breakfast and dinners): it is a symphony for the palett that you will appreciate all the more after a day skying. Fresh French food at its best. Perfectionism through and through. You will appreciate every detail, and the human touch. No car is needed. The hotel managers are multilingual (English, Italian ..), they organised a taxi transfer from Geneva Airport, and one hour after, we were walking distance from the ski slopes. You can also use the airport shuttle which will take you 50m from the Hotel entrance. I recommmend this place more than highly, and I hope you deserve it :) I will come back with my family next time I have a chance.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Corina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cris06, Propriétaire at La Grange d'Arly, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

" à quoi bon chercher la lune alors que nous sommes entourés d'étoiles ", why looking for the moon while we are surrounded by stars, and you are one of them . Making someone happy is not easy, but you knew how to appreciate what we did for you . Even if you come back in 10 years, we'll still be here with the same way of thinking and working . We thank you so much for your warm review and look forward to seeing you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We’d really recommend this small hotel within easy reach of the lift and slopes. The rooms are very comfortable; the food is very good (gateau pithiviers, crepes, duck, and more - I shall be going home much heavier), and the bath’s a decent size. We’d definitely come back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cris06, Propriétaire at La Grange d'Arly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks God having you with us . Life is sharing lovely moments, good food, and having fun . You make us be and that's the most important thing . Thank you for coming, and thank you for wishing to come back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Recently returned from another two weeks at La Grange d'Arly and Megeve.
The snow this year was fabulous - perhaps too much on a day or two The bus to Mt. D'Abois is 200 steps from the hotel, which has a useful ski storage/locker room in the basement. This owner managed hotel is one of the friendliest, cleanest small hotels in the world and the chef is one of the best in Megeve. It is just a delightful place to warm up after a day on the slopes and get fortified for tomorrow's runs.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally attractive.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cris06, Propriétaire at La Grange d'Arly, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

What can we say after your awesome review . A winter season without you would not be a real one . 10 years now you visit us and it's a real pleasure each year . Your kindness, your happyness give us the strengh to do better and better . You know our work, and how it's hard . One true thing, we consider you as friends making part of our family
Big kiss to all of you . Christine, Jean Marie, Sandrine and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Rooms are very smelly and owners are rude.service was very bad. There ia no food at lunch time and dinner is very bad. We had a crepe that smelled like egg and the meet of the burgers were very bad quality. Very close to the center of megeve.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cris06, Propriétaire at La Grange d'Arly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you so much for this amazing review . Regarding the food we can understand that people not used at fresh food can be surprised . We remember how you left the table ....
For Lunch, the confirmation, and the website are clear . But if our food was so bad, why complaining about no lunch . Regarding the rooms, what can we say !! Mind that lies make noses lengthen .
You just forgot to mention that because of the rain you decided to shorten your stay by 2 nights, and we refunded the money . Now the hotel is quiet as your turbulent children has left . Best wishes and Happy new year far from us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely log weekend here this winter and despite the actual snow not being at its best we were well looked after at La Grange. Rooms are very comfortable and have a lovely ski chalet feel to them. The staff in the bar and restaurant cannot do enough for you and are always very friendly. Happy to recommend this hotel and if we come back to Megeve again will happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cris06, Propriétaire at La Grange d'Arly, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews . It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you back . Life is short and doing our best is our main aim . See you soon . Christine ALLARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews