We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch after a 3 hour walk”

Le comptoir d'Alice Megeve
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Megeve
Price range: US$23 - US$46
Description: New in Megève, we have just bought the restaurant. In the menu you can find home made food, freshness and seasonnal products. The menu changes every two weeks so that you can enjoy even more. Here, we finish the meal with a coffee roasted for us and above all milled directly. Come to visit us, we will welcome you in a friendly mood.
Restaurant details
Description: New in Megève, we have just bought the restaurant. In the menu you can find home made food, freshness and seasonnal products. The menu changes every two weeks so that you can enjoy even more. Here, we finish the meal with a coffee roasted for us and above all milled directly. Come to visit us, we will welcome you in a friendly mood.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here after doing a 3 hour walk with our dog. Staff were very friendly and Monty (dog) was really accepted.

We went for the plat de hour which was chicken and amazing. Great coffees too.

Thank TimWoods84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Only one (unsuitable) option for kids.

Asked for a plate of plain pasta. When bill came they had charged 14 Euros - this was for an adult meal with an expensive sauce. When queried owner refused to adjust.

Came to pay and asked for the 15% service charge to be removed, as we would for poor service in the UK. Told this was impossible.

Then the owner continued to argue with me, in front of other customers (sensible business practice). I said forget it I would pay. She continued to argue then eventually reduced by 5 Euros so 9 Euros for a plate of plain pasta - Voleurs !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calie S, Propriétaire at Le comptoir d'Alice Megeve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Sir,

Let me answer to your comment.

Yes, we have only one kids menu and it is written on the menu outside the restaurant, so when you decided to enter you already know that.

As you came for lunch, you have the choice between three main courses if you decide to choose the lunch specials. And yes, among this choice you have pasta with chanterelles sauce which costs 14€. You ask for this meal for your daughter but without the sauce. It was your choice.

When you receive the bill you were upset and you argued with the owner. You wanted to make your own price for your daughter’s Meal. Unfortunately it doesnt work like that. You choose one meal and if you decide to cancel one ingredient it is your choice but the price doesnt vary according to each customer’s will.

After a long discussion in front of other customers (we know them and they also work in a restaurant and they were really surprised by your behaviour), we decided to reduce the price of your pasta. You pay 9€ for your daughter’s meal and you are still saying it is too expensive. So the only thing I can say is if you dont want to pay in a restaurant dont go, or buy a sandwich, it s cheaper.

We dont accept to be insulted by a customer, above all when we did our best during your lunch and when we have already dine what you ask us to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Already been there a view times because the food is not just very good but also homemade. The location is cozy and filled with amazing small details which gives the guest a very welcoming feeling.

Definitely to recommend.

Thank Philo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My husband and I were in Megeve for a week and had eaten our fill of cheese, meat and more cheese. Le Comptoir d'Alice was around the corner from our hotel and we were meeting a friend called ... Alice so what better place to go. We made the right decision. Megeve is very pricey but this was good honest prices bang in the centre of Megeve with funky fun staff - all with a good sense of humour. We went two times and had everything from goats cheese salads (De-licious) to Hamburgers (very very good with exceptional beef) to Asian noodles (random but too tasty). Puddings were totally unnecessary but a delight and wine menu was realistic and at fair prices. Great place.

1  Thank EjWillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calie S, Propriétaire at Le comptoir d'Alice Megeve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Many thanks for this nice review. We are glad to know that you spent à good time in our restaurant.

Looking forward to seeing you another time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Had no idea this restaurant was so large, as have only eaten in the small front area in past years. Turns out there’s a nice big room in the back too. Very much enjoyed the relaxed and friendly service of the staff. Good house cocktail and great steak.Varied menu with lots of choice. Look forward to trying a few more dishes soon.

1  Thank LissyBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le comptoir d'Alice Megeve also viewed

Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le comptoir d'Alice Megeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing