We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and stay!”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #12 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel, set high above Lyons with dramatic views across the rooftops from the restaurant. This is hotel and fine dining at its best. The bedrooms were large, quiet and well appointed, the service is impeccable and seemingly effortless. We were greeted with a welcome drink as we checked in which is a nice touch, and the legendary Anne was a mine of information and just as friendly as the reviews said she would be! It may be off the beaten path but it certainly merits the detour.

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the Hotel if you can but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Hotel was beautiful! The management was very accommodating...there was a mix up with our room and they handled it right away and gave us a great upgrade, the pool is nice and the views are insane! I would eat out side the hotel and beware of the million stairs to get up to the hotel...you can cab it or walk if you are in shape : ) 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this beautiful restored convent atop the big hill in Old Lyon. You are treated as a VIP from the moment you enter the beautiful lobby, as the hotel staff provides you with a refreshing drink on the terrace as they do the paperwork for your check-in. The staff speak many languages and are happy to help you. The room was beautiful with a territorial view of the city. The pool overlooks the city and has a spa feel to it. The bar in the lobby, although usually empty, was a wonderful place to have an evening cocktail or a morning coffee and croissant while I waited for my teenage daughter to finish dressing. The location is fantastic - just above the cobblestoned portion of old Lyon, with scores of wonderful Lyonnaise bistros to eat, drink, and peoplewatch throughout the day and evening. You will want to be physically fit, however, because the best way to reach these bistros and shops is via the nearby old staircases that link the hotel to the rest of Lyon. I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had to book a last minute trip to Lyon for business and was fortunate that there weren't any other hotels with availability. This was truly a first rate experience and I only had two days to enjoy while still working. The rooms and amenities were incredible - large - which in Europe is uncommon. The bathroom alone was huge and luxurious. The property is a former religious site (monastery, I think) and they kept many of the original features. The views were just beautiful- couldn't ask for a better overall experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Villa Florentine is beautiful. The old abbey has been decorated with every attention to detail. The views across Lyon are breathtaking, it is an easy walk down stairs to the old village where you get lost in the old world charm. The staff are extremely helpful and take a little extra time to chat. Anne (Assistant Mgr) was very friendly and made the visit warm and welcoming. We wanted to stay longer, such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 196 in Lyon
1,313 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: €195 - €679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing