We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in Lyon”
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Ranked #7 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in Lyon”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in the Villa Florentine for one night but wish we could have stayed much longer. The hotel was perfect. The service was outstanding and the staff was welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and elegant, the bed was extremely comfortable. The view from the hotel was amazing and I was pleased with it's close proximity to Old Town.

The hotel and staff are first rate and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Lyon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    148
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
434
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I'll start off with the bad, but keep in mind that I did give it 5 stars and would urge you to try this beautiful, elegant hotel.

The room was beautiful, spacious and had a fabulous view of the city. It also had a fabulous, direct facing view of the the people sitting on the terrace off the reception area. They were literally 20 feet away on the same level. I felt like they were in the room with us. We could pull the heavy drapes (no sheers!), but then we were paying for the view.

After some back & forth with the manager, they did move us to another deluxe room a few floors higher. We could still see the people on the terrace but at least we were looking down at them instead of face to face. Room was slightly smaller but still considered "deluxe".

Second glitch, the bar is woefully understaffed. They have all this fabulous champagne, aged scotch (16 year old Abelour if you're into that) and brandy but no one to sell it. Even after asking the desk clerk to get someone, it was more than 10 minutes before anyone came. (The desk clerk can't pour a drink?)This was 2 nights in a row. Several couples came and left. I'm glad we stuck it out because it is a beautiful bar and the drinks fabulous.

Everything else was divine. The restaurant was incredible and we had the most perfect table, right near the edge of the balcony with fabulous views. The food and service was just perfect. We will definately go back but will avoid the rooms on the same level as reception.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms adjacent to the reception terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marylou431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Jerome Montanteme and his staff did an outstanding job of making my husband and my stay a very memorable experience. From the moment we entered the lobby until we left 3 days later, the staff was courteous, attentive and professional which when added to the beauty of the hotel and its views made for a get-away that we have not stopped talking about yet! Lyon is a wonderful stop if you want to escape Paris or other big cities but still enjoy exceptional accommodations and hospitality. Jerome is a delight and believe me when I say he is ready for you to visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel Villa Florentine is a beautiful relais chateau above the city of Lyon. We were greeted at check in with an offer of a non alcoholic beverage to have on the terrace. We utilized their beautiful swimming pool after a very hot day and just relaxed. They also offer many spa packages. Our room was very attracive and quiet facing east with a view of old Lyon below, however, we did not realize that there would be a spiral staircase in the room leading to where our bed was! We did find this awkward and even dangerous during the night if one had to use the toliet downstairs. When we were checking out, Jerome, the manager assured us that we could have gotten a room all on one floor. We know now for the next time!
Breakfast on the terrace was delicious and so relaxing. Dinner was not on the terrace, and we realised that the terrace was mainly reserved for smokers. The attractive gardens below were full of roses and a fountain with fish. The bar is decorated beautfully and comfortable. This is a very secluded hotel for a romantic get a way, but not near any metro or public transportation.If you want to explore, you can walk down a large staircase nearby which brings you to lots of charming cafes, markets and the river below. (This staircase was filled with garbage , broken bottles and cigarette butts from the night before, of which we informed the hotel manager.) After walking around the lower section of Lyon and the river, a funicular can bring you to the top , and you can walk down to your hotel from there. I definately will come back, just to enjoy the peace and quiet of this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: avoid a room with a spiral staircase leading to the bedroom above. Try to get a room overlooking ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

As a hotel owner and professor of customer service, I have a very critical eye when it comes to being a guest rather than sitting on the other side of the desk. This hotel does a GREAT job when it comes to personnel, and frankly, I learned from watching them in action. It was absolutely flawless.

The managers, Anne Christensen and Jerome Montanteme were completely available to us, friendly, not the least bit patronizing - they were warm, personable, and made every effort to make our stay truly exceptional.

Other positives: location (terrific, perched on a hillside with great view of the city and easy walk in), housekeepers (spotless), parking (easy) and food (delicious).

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, and look forward to another stay soon.

Jim Braude
jbinparis@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Property: Villa Florentine
Address: 25 Montee Saint Barthelemy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing