We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveller rating
515
764
168
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
764
168
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le garage old town two double beds the river free wifi nice hotel train station nespresso coffee machine mercure lyon business district minute walk small pool rooms are comfortable walking distance room was large across the bridge part dieu
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Large clean, comfortable rooms provide a little haven in this big, busy city. The hotel is located not far from the Rhone River and restaurants within walking distance. Helpful staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Large comfortable room and effective shower. Breakfast was included in our rate and we loved the extra large croissants and the brioche with pink praline. The Nespresso coffee machine dispensed your choice of coffee and was good quality. Staff were friendly and efficient and were able to provide poached or boiled eggs in addition to the standard fare.
The hotel could be more central but we used the metro to go over to vieux Lyon. The nearest station is only 5 minutes away.
The only criticism we had was the cobwebs on our ceiling when we arrived in our room. It is a very good value hotel for the standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor will be brighter.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the business area of Lyon. It’s a good walk to the main square, Place Bellecour, and further yet to the old city. Plan on taxi, Uber or mass transportation to get around. Parking at the hotel was 24euro a night, but we were lucky to park for free on the streets during the entire month of August. Our family room was large and clean. The staff were helpful with our many questions. Very good buffet breakfast in the attached Le Garage restaurant. The Michelin rated David and Denise is a block away. Nothing bad to say about this hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank N4382QPscottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Very nice hotel and well located. Clean and and friendly hotel staff and very helpful. Excellent room for the price.

Located near bus and T1 tram line. Close to Part Dieu shopping mall which is enormous. Good air conditioning as it was 95° when I was there Aug 6-8.

Gym room with lot's of modern electronic equipment however swimming pool is too small to do laps. It's more of a cooling off pool.

One regret about the swimming pool as there is no anti slip strips near the pool and I did fall down and ended up with a horrible bruise on my foot. I informed the hotel that they need to put down ant-slip strips as it can be dangerous.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivierarocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

A good quality tourist/business hotel. The service is good, the property attractive, the pool and exercise room are a bonus. We slept well, it was clean, quiet and comfortable.
The food and drinks service needs improvement, and the breakfast is a rip-off with poor quality food at 20E per person. Coffee is from a vending machine of the type one expects in a 2 star hotel. This was the only downside. The location is not very central, geared more towards people who need close access to the business district, but it's a nice walk across the bridge to the shopping area.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon and offer you a better experience for the breakfast.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews