We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel du Dauphine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Dauphine
Ranked #180 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Relatively small room but more than adequate for a short stay. Very clean. The man at the reception was really helpful and friendly. The bed is on the small side though, and we're just of average height. Location is ok, though not totally central, but very close to the station and metro. Try the Vatelrestaurant in front of the hotel, it's the restaurant of a hotelschool, so where their pupils practice, and gives real good value for money.

Room Tip: there's no lift, so if you have heavy luggage or difficulty with stairs, ask a room on the first...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgiumTiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Dauphine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Arrived on a trip back from Southern France. The owner met us and quickly got us checked in. Room was very spacious, bathroom clean and well maintained. Room was as you would expect for a older hotel, high ceilings etc but it was also clean and had no issues. The owner was very chatty and helpful in explaining where to eat and what too see, english speaking was no problem. Breakfast was also excellent. Over all no complaints at all, would definitely stay again and see more of the city next time.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the rear courtyard. Bit of a hike but lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Typical 2 star hotel with tiny rooms. A decent deal if you paying 50 or 60 euros, but much nicer places to stay at full price. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and English speaking. The bed is not the most comfortable foam mattress; room so small it only has a few inches on each side of bed; bath so small that knees touch wall when on the toilet. I'd only stay here in a pinch when everything else is booked, which I did. I don't think it has air conditioning and was hot in October. Very noisy outside with windows open. Would be unbearale in Summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here 3 nights. It is an older hotel, so we didn't expect as good as we received. We found the staff to be very helpful, who obviously take pride in their work and their hotel. Most spoke English well. Triple room was large, with a large bathroom and separate toilet. Had a room facing away from the street, although the street is relatively quiet in any case. It is feasable to walk to the old town from here (about 1.5km away) via Bellecour, although the hotel is only 150 metres from Perrache station, with subsequent connections to other metro lines. Free WiFi.
No lift, no English speaking TV channels. Neither bothered us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We spent a lot of time driving around Lyon looking for a reasonably priced hotel that included parking for one night. We came upon this hotel that offered us a twin room, breakfast and parking for one night for 80 euros (although I asked for a double bed room and was given a twin room instead).

The room was clean, tidy and very basic with a television, wardrobe, desk etc. The bed was reasonably comfortable.

The bathroom was extremely small but clean; it had a hairdryer but the shower wasn’t great. The shower head did not have a stand so you’d have to hold the shower head while showering; it also had a very flimsy shower curtain which did not keep the water in very well.

The breakfast was ok – a cup of coffee, bread and butter, croissant and jam, yoghurt and an orange juice; it wasn’t a buffet breakfast but was enough to keep us going for the day and was served to us by a very nice lady.

We didn’t spend much time in Lyon as it was far too hot to walk around and explore the city but it is approximately 10 minutes away from the Museum of Resistance and Deportation and just minutes away from the river.

Overall the hotel was ok but it was parking that was crucial for us as many of the hotels in Lyon did not have parking (I can’t remember which hotel it was but one man tried to convince us that parking outside the hotel on a cross was ‘No problem’ which of course was not true). The hotel allowed us to have our car parked for the rest of the afternoon after we checked out which was very nice of them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel de la Marne
Hotel de la Marne
#124 of 196 in Lyon
150 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#51 of 196 in Lyon
371 reviews
Hotel d'Azur
#143 of 196 in Lyon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De La Loire
#107 of 196 in Lyon
87 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Best Western Hotel De Verdun
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel d'Ainay
Hotel d'Ainay
#169 of 196 in Lyon
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Dauphine

Address: 3 rue Duhamel, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: €68 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Dauphine 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etablissement familial, situe au centre ville, pres de la gare de Perrache, de la station de metro et de tramway. Le centre historique, "le vieux Lyon" est a moins de 15 minutes a pied. L'hotel du dauphine propose des chambres individuelles, des doubles ainsi que des chambres familiales pouvant accueillir jusqu'a 4 personnes. Les chambres sont equipees d'un double vitrage, d'ecrans plats. Il offre des programmes canal sat et une connexion wifi haut debit gratuite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing