We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun but the hotel is old and dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun but the hotel is old and dirty.”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have to say that overall it was great fun. The atmosphere was great. the ski instructors were very good buT the hotel is very old with old dirty carpets. the rooms are horrible and dirty and it is definitly in a need of renovation. The spa pool is very cold and we couldn't use it which was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you very for writing your comments on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Chamonix Mont Blanc Resort. It is only with very constructive criticism such as yours that Club Med will be able to monitor and improve if necessary, the standards and quality of services offered in all its resorts worldwide.

We have noted your comment with regards to the overall appearance of the Resort, in particular the carpets and the rooms, and forwarded it to the Quality department for its attention.

We were very sorry to read that you could not enjoy the pool due to the fact that you found it too cold. For your information, our Chamonix Mont Blanc Resort has the Green Globe label and as a result has to respect certain rules with regards to environmental aspects as energy-consuming. On behalf of Club Med, we can only apologise for the inconvenience caused to you as a result.

On a more positive note, we were very glad to read that you like the atmosphere and the ski lessons.

With these positive thoughts in mind, we look forward to welcoming you to another Club Med Resort in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Your Club Med UK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    379
    160
    73
    43
See reviews for
370
289
76
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We would have to agree with the overwhelming number of reviews stating that much of the problem lies with the "director" who is hopelessly lost in this job. All of his energy clearly goes to his singing performances. DInning room understaffed, terribly mediocre food, dirty and broken and huge and cumbersome child chairs, many missing trays, and no silverware for small children despite claiming to be "baby friendly". No family play area, in fact, absolutely nothing outside the baby club that is at all child oriented. Swimming pool was FREEZING COLD and entirely unusable, so enjoy the lovely photo, it's all you will see of it.
Great skiing, great location, beautiful village of Chamonix, great G.Os., wonderful lessons and instructors, but the scheduling is a NIGHTMARE if you have a child between the ages of 2 and 10 because their lessons start 15 minutes after yours which is just long enough to miss your group's departure! We were only able to ski on an every other day rotation and full day excursions which return at two make it impossible to meet the children for lunch and there are no childcare alternatives at the club.
Lovely baby club and far superior to others we have experienced in that the staff were truly qualified; they even had a paediatric nurse who was a huge help when our child became ill. Strollers to lend, but they are, like the high chairs, HUGE, and cannot be manoevered comfortably in the club and especially in the dining room.
We loved the after ski snacks and the quality here was far superior to that in the dining room. Our room had a distinct "youth hostel" feel with not even a shelf for keeping our toiletries. The hot water is HUGELY dangerous to families as it runs insanely hot and cold without warning and the shower pressure is roughly that of washing from a cup. But we did have sufficient storage and we did had sufficient space, even if the rooms were rather barren. Wonderful housekeeping service and entirely happy with the cleanliness unlike that mentioned in several French posts.
Overall we were happy, if not overly excited (as we usually are with Club Med) by our experience, but this village is a THREE TRIDENT and please don't expect four trident service or you will be seriously disappointed. We had to pay 35 Euros extra to leave an hour later (with a sick baby) which we found ridiculous and VERY different from the usual helpfulness and support we have experienced at Club Med.
Great access to the slopes and great ski room and probably a nice non-family resort if you are not a foody. Best not to take kids, A good baby club, but no baby friendly areas or services before and after make life more difficult than necessary. You will be MUCH HAPPIER at Villars sur Ollon who really know how to cater for families in an amazing way. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DVDS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Visited Club Med Chamonix in Christmas week 2010 as an experienced skier with a partner first time skiier. What a great place to learn to ski. The hotel is excellent. You pay more than with most firms however the value is the quality and choice of food and drink. Its really nice to come off the slopes to fantastic snacks and cakes then relax in the spa and indoor/outdoor pool then change for the evening meal where the choice is vast and of high standard. all inc wine is good not cheap stuff. Ski equipment was high standard, reasonable price. ski school was great for beginners and had a really organised partnership with the resort. The village of Chamonix is minutes and is truly special especially the outside mulled wine and crepes. I didnt make the slopes Xmas eve as the beautiful scenery and church bells persuded my tired legs to stay home. The staff did everything possible to enhance the visit. Really special nice touches like outdoor carols and wine as you came off the slopes. hard to fault although as im British.....
Negatives...
Room design is a bit strange and dated
some of the hotel is very dark looking
queues for equipment poor
xmas days a bt strange for the French.
The slopes of Chamonix are great for Club Med first timers and the red hot however if youre intermediate the slopes are brutally steep + you'll have to travel.
positives....
the rest
its a special place
you can relax that you dont have to pay for food and booze as its really expensive outside...

Room Tip: I booked a basic room, they rang to upgrade for a reasonable cost, it felt like that was standard pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeB998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Chamonix Mont Blanc Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your partner had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and the Resort location.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at the Club Med of Chamonix Mont Blanc.

What we mostly appreciate in Chamonix is the VERY VAST ski domain (both on & off-slopes)! But the only way to ski comfortably without waiting for busses to vehicule you from one mountain to another, is by staying at the Club Med and following your ESF instructor with a private bus for your group!!! Pure luxury!

To gain time during lunch hour, Club Med arranges the lunch services in the altitude restaurants! In other words : a lunch with a view!

The sauna, hammam and swimming pool are the place to relax after having unwrapped your feet from those heavy boots!!!

The only negative part would be : the hotel is pretty dark...

We are looking forward to go again soon!

For more information view my pictures : http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=25618&id=100001694567744&l=b5d9c06d40

--

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotographyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We went on holiday with a baby and two smalll childeren. We epected that only the childeren would relax but what a surprise. The hotel was great, food was fantastic and the was so much to do for families with small childeren. For over 5 year olds, I would suggest a different hotel. Strangely there where also a lot of seniors, who also had a great time. With the hotel you also get a card that grants you access to alll cable cars and trains.
The best was the view on Mont Blanc so impressive.

Room Tip: It is worth to opt for the mont blanc view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.0 km away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Property: Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc
Address: 191 avenue du Savoy, 74401, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peak touching the clouds, Mont Blanc holds a fascination for everyone who comes near. Ever since two mountaineers first conquered the Giant of the Alps over two centuries ago, this Haute-Savoie resort, a pioneer in the practice of skiing, has managed to preserve a unique atmosphere. This Club Med Village is set in the cosy, welcoming decor of a former hotel, the Savoy, totally renovated. Along with the treatments at Cinq Mondes Spa* the Village helps you to detox and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc Hotel Chamonix
Chamonix Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing