We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
226
209
79
34
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
209
79
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop and train station voyage prive the prix fixe menu superior room with balcony half board basis exceptional hotel nice bed ski village fresh fruit free pass mont blanc pool area nice hotel direct view enjoyed our stay mountain view perfect base
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We were very happy that this hotel is couple of miles out of town, as we liked the peace and quiet. We had a ground floor room at the back which was very comfortable, and we could park our car at the rear of the hotel, which was secure. We found all the reception staff very helpful,
The first evening we ate in the dining room, which was very pleasant , with a lovely view of the mountains. The service fairly good, though we thought the cost was very pricey. I would suggest that you plan where you are going to eat in the evening when you are out during the day! We struggled to find somewhere on the second evening, but eventually found a roadside place a mile or so away, which looked nothing from the outside, but had great food at reasonable prices and was full of locals!! so worth exploring.
Yes, breakfast was a bit hit and miss: cold plates for hot food, and not obvious where things were.... staff were not particularly observant of people's needs.
On the plus side, we had great opportunities for walking and driving to areas where we could go up in the chair lifts to see the views. Fabulous location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irène K, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and that we managed to reach your expectations in terms of quality and service.
It is always a pleasure for us to receive such a positive feedback rewarding the continuing efforts of the staff to maintain the level of satisfaction of our valued customers.
I took note regarding the comments about the breakfast. The F&B manager has been told, and now the team is aware about this.
We are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon in Chamonix in order to make you live another enriching experience .
Sincerely Your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay overall, but the hotel was probably the least good part of it. It is a bit out of the centre, a twenty minute bus or train ride (free with a ticket from reception) which while fairly convenient and nice to travel through the beautiful countryside, it did mean that it was inconvenient to eat out.

The hotel restaurant was average, not bad food, but slow and frustrating service - I think we may have been unlucky as I think there were a few new starters during our stay.

The rooms were fine, one with a nice view from the balcony, OK size, clean, nice bed.

On the plus side it is in the beautiful Alps, with walks in different directions up the mountainsides on the north and south.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irène K, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix.
We were happy to read that you find our rooms nice and you enjoyed our amazing view on the Mont Blanc and all the different direction to have a walk from the hotel directly!
Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests.
It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement.
We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity ro welcome you back soon at our property.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, although the hotel has a Chamonix address, it is about 5 km outside of town. Therefore a car is needed to go for dinner .
The spa area is nice but very small and very crowded (and we stayed here off season).
The service staff was incompetent and not helpful at all ( did not know the taxi rate to Chamonix and gave us the incomplete bus information... ).
Breakfast was chaotic, things were distributed everywhere (plates hidden behind the hot food, no small spoons, no large coffee cups).
Check out was tedious.
We are not planning on coming back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bar Beaver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irène K, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix.
I feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in our establishment. Regarding the Spa I am understand your point of view however you came at a period when the hotel was totally full. This is why we according the check out day the possibility to go at the spa for free until 3 PM.
Regarding the breakfast we are sorry, all those information have been transmitted to the F&B Manager. Some news actions have already been done.
Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests.
It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement.
We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon at our property.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I was running UTMB and opted to stay a bit further from town. Hotel Excelsior was lovely and quiet, and it was perfect for what I was looking for. The room was nice, clean, and spacious with a beautiful view of Mont Blanc. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

You are about 3 miles from the center of Chamonix. The buses and trains run regularly and are free with a pass the hotel gives you. Though note that if you are out to dinner in Chamonix later in the evening the buses and trains may not still be running! You could also walk to / from Flegere pretty easily, as it was only a mile.

The restaurant in the hotel was very nice, and I'd recommend it for dinner (particularly the daily fixed price menu special). My only complaint was that breakfast was fine but I thought expensive for what it was.

But all in all was a great option for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irène K, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Excelsior CHamonix.
We were happy to learn that you appreciated our rooms together with our restaurant and all our staff...
Your compliments will be shared with the entire team as a reward for their continual efforts to maintain our quality of service.
Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I HAD A LOVELY STAY WITH MY FAMILY ( i will go back )
Large quiet room .
beautiful location view on the mont blanc and great amneties such spa & swimming pool even children play room .
the breakfast had a great selection and eating in front of the mountain was a great start for the day
the staff was very knowledgeable on the area , professional and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah Kadaja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irène K, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix.
We were happy to learn that you appreciated our establishment and all our staff :)
Your compliments will be shared with the entire team as a reward for their continual efforts to maintain our quality of service.
Do not hesitate to contact us for you futur stay in our establishment, we look forward having the pleasure to welcome you back soon with your family.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews