We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Great impressions of the hotel. Very friendly and caring girls at the reception, comfortable room with nice view, great location and free parking. We didn't take breakfast, but were very pleased with coffe/tea wtih snacks in the afternoon. We have the best impressions left.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ar5448040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are glad we left a good impression! Thank you for your review, and we hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

The location of this hotel is excellent as it is right on the River and half a block from the central pedestrian area of Chamonix. However, despite the fact that we upgraded our room, it was quite small. It did have a balcony overlooking the river but no view of Mont Blanc. Breakfast was good but an extra charge of 12 Euros per person.

Room Tip: Upgrade room as standard rooms must be very small. Our room was an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillyatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for your feeback!
Our Standard rooms are around 14 meters square, and the Superior rooms are around 18 meters square : to have more space, it is indeed best to book the ladder. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We spent two nights here and we were well satisfied. Its location allows for easy travel to the heart of town. It was quiet, located along the river. The room was a little small but that is usually expected in Europe. It was very clean and it did have a nice bathroom. It did take about five minutes to get hot water in the shower, just as the posted sign tells you. The stall itself is a little tight even for an average sized person. They do have a nice lobby for relaxing. Breakfast was fairly good although I did question the freshness of some of the meat the second day. Overall it was a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RJN612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your review! Rest assured that we provide the freshest meat, and we have strong protocols in place to make sure that it is always the case!
We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is so lovely, I could have spend much more time there than just a weekend. We came in Chamonix by bus, and the hotel is 10mins from the bus stop by foot. The breakfast is a typical French breakfast, which means a lot of sweet things. The closest mountains are almost behind the corner, so we went to hike directly from the hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank touristTiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank for your feedback and your recommendation! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff are super friendly. The hotel is set in simply stunning surroundings in Chamonix. It's extremely peaceful and quiet with great amenities. The bedroom is large, the flooring wooden, the beds super comfy, giving off lovely cosy feel overall. Five stars!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ry99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for this great review!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,211 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
875 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: €93 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing