We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cosy boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff are super friendly. The hotel is set in simply stunning surroundings in Chamonix. It's extremely peaceful and quiet with great amenities. The bedroom is large, the flooring wooden, the beds super comfy, giving off lovely cosy feel overall. Five stars!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ry99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for this great review!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

The hotel was booked so a final stop for my husband and friends who were doing the Tour de Mont Blanc.

It's a great location, close to the centre of town and all shops and restaurants. We had a room with a small balcony over looking the Rive Arve and with a view of the mountains. It's a traditional chalet style building with lots of wood. Cosy seating areas in bar and lunge, where tea and homemade cake is served in the afternoons. Breakfast is a good selection of pastries, fruit, yoghurt etc. and the hotel is close enough to the town centre to walk to local eateries in the evening. The receptionists gave us some good recommendations for places to eat.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a small balcony with seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magrithea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have just spent a week celebrating our 30 wedding anniversary in Chamonix before moving on to Annecy whilst in the south of France. We loved the hotel and found it charming, a great base with wonderful views and friendly staff. If you are staying in Chamonix and want do so in comfort without spending a fortune then this is the hotel for you. All amenities and attractions within a 15 minute walk. If you are lucky enough you may spot the humming birds hovering over the hanging baskets in the riverside garden. A real gem.

Room Tip: Balcony room facing the river with a view of Mont Blanc and the Bossons glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnraftery60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Happy anniversary! We were glad to help you celebrate it as it should.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We were in walking distance to all things in the city. You will have to take a cab to the bus station if you are going out of town. The hotel offers a good European breakfast. The area was quite at night to leave the windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 522travel593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share, we are glad you liked our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a lovely two night stay in this hotel. It is in a great location within a very short walk to the pedestrianised Main Street in Chamonix, and no more that 10-15 Minute walk to the Aiguille du Midi Cable Car Station.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful and provided us with maps and directions. Also, a great positive is that the hotel has a car park beside the hotel which is free to hotel guests and is very convenient!

Room Tip: View of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank March_Hare_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We were glad to help and welcome you! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,215 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
631 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
423 reviews
1 km away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: €88 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing