We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
137
226
94
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
226
94
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location vieux port yogurt quiet room family room pleasant stay would definitely stay here again bw privacy sleeping
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

First the good: the rooms are nice and feel new, with very few signs of wear and tear. I am particularly pleased by the look of the family room we were given. In all too many hotels, "family room" means simply cramming an extra bed into a regular room. Not so here: in this case there was a separate room with two additional beds and a TV, guaranteeing more privacy to everyone. Another positive point was the breakfast which was included in the price and served in a very pleasant space: the food was of consistently good quality and there was plenty of choice. Now the not so good (but also not terrible) things: while the rooms themselves were not crammed, the hotel suffers from a lack of space. It has no lobby to speak of, only a small space leading to the stairs and the elevator. This was definitely a problem during the checkout, as the small space (and the single employee working there) cannot adequately handle a large number of guests. The other issue is the location. While the hotel is in a fairly central location, and within a few hundred meters from the Vieux Port, it is not actually in the Vieux Port but a bit outside of the main tourist area. In sum, however, this can be a good choice for a few nights close to the center of Marseille.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SashaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello SashaCT,

Thank you very much for your complimentary testimonial and sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that your room and breakfast are up to your expectations.

Indeed the central location in the heart of Marseille is ideal for visiting the city.

Hoping to see you again at the Best Western Marseille Vieux Port Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Worst service ever! My room was full of ants and i wake up they walk all on My body. They dont give me nothing for that. And yesterday i waiting wather 20min because there is nobody working on the bar. Dont go there if you dont want to be fooled! I drive from Finland to here like 2days and what i get...? Bad service and some bugfestival in my room!!! #bugzoo#angry#customer!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SamiF214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Sami,

Thank you very much for visiting us! However, we were dismayed to read that you were not at all satisfied with this trip. We apologize for the disadvantages you have had with the room you have assigned. We want to improve our services and your comment allows us to be informed in order to implement the necessary improvements.
We really hope this does not tarnish your stay and we would like if you can give us another try so that we can provide you with the excellent service you expect from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

It was a nice BW in a great location, and the receptionist spoke English, and she was extremely helpful in setting up transfers to the Cruise port the next morning. Room was large and clean, and the bathroom was lovely and spacious as well. Breakfast was ample, yet a bit pricey. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying only a night or two. We were getting on a Cruise, and thought this place was great. The picture included in this review was our room with "pineapple wallpaper."

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie P,
Thank you very much for your complimentary testimonial and sharing your experience.
We are delighted to read that you were conquered by the universe of « Happy Culture », and that it was even beyond your expectations.
We want our guests to be delighted as soon as they arrive and throughout their stay: a successful bet!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to us on your next visit to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture™.
Very warmly, Marlène Bouland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

First of all, the location is great, in an alive neighbourhood, about 200 meters from the famous “Vieux Port”. The staff was great, nice and flexible. Rooms are clean and neat, decoration is floral, which was quite enjoyable on the French Riviera. The breakfast is very good too. Altogether, a perfect stay !

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothée R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

HI Mr Timothée,

Thank you for your very nice message.

We hope to see you soon.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We really cannot fault our stay here, ever since we arrived everyone were there to help us and to make sure we were happy. Our room was very clean and was cleaned every day by the lovely maids. The room was not the biggest however it suited our needs and had everything we needed. There was Nespresso available at all times and pastries in the morning. Also there is a lounge area where you have your breakfast if you are doing bed and breakfast - we used it after checkout to chill out and have a coffee before we headed to the airport. So overall we had a really good experience and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for the great history of your stay!! We feel definitely the happiest hotel by reading your words :-)

We enjoyed sharing our time with you and we hope we will have more lovely days in the future at your service.
Kind Regards,

The all team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews