We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Prefecture
Ranked #102 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 14 June 2016

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank R6468VFpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016

The central location makes this budget hotel ideal. Generally clean but could use a bit of modernisation.. But good value for money. No breakfast but plenty of cafes nearby. Ask for a room towards the main street for more light.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The Hotel de la Prefecture is quite easy to find and is roughly a 15-20 minute walk from the train station. The staff at the reception were very helpful and polite and gave me access to the WiFi straight away.

My room was absolutely fine with all the amenities that I would need including my own bathroom. Of course being in the centre of Marseille, there can be quite a bit of noise at night but thankfully it wasn't enough to disturb my sleep. You could hear the plumbing system though when other guests were turning on taps or flushing the toilet.

The biggest plus for me was the location as it is only a 15 minute walk to the Old Port where the heart of Marseille is. Along the route there are many interesting shops and patisseries where you can grab a croissant for breakfast at a very good price.

Overall, the hotel served my needs very well and I'd be happy to go back there the next time I visit Marseille.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drum_Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Nice hotel located in the city center, 20 minutes walking from either the main train station and from the city center (Old port). It's also close to one Marseille's main streets, so you'll have shops, supermarkets, cafés and restaurants all around. The rooms are not luxurious and have only the minimum needed, but that's what we paid for so I don't think we can complain.

Nice option if you don't want to spend that much and are looking for a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Place was hard to find. The sign was not obvious from the street. Location was good but 5 minutes up the road you'd find yourself in a not so good area. The service was terrible. Guy at reception didn't seem to know what he was doing. My room was facing the street so it was really noisy, even with the window shut (didn't shut properly though). Room was a simply double room, bathroom was ok. I definitely don't recommend this place. One or two nights stay is doable but otherwise, look for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank monay936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Palais-de-Justice
Sylvabelle Hotel
Sylvabelle Hotel
#121 of 131 in Marseille
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'Eau des Collines
#96 of 131 in Marseille
54 reviews
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#78 of 131 in Marseille
122 reviews
Hotel Lutetia
#114 of 131 in Marseille
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Prefecture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Prefecture

Address: 9 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: €43 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de la Prefecture 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de la Prefecture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing