We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel right in the centre of Orange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel right in the centre of Orange”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst wine tasting in nearby Vacqueyras. The hotel is fantastically located in the centre of Orange with the main square only a minute or so walk away (we ate at La Sangria which did an excellent set-menu supper).
The couple running the hotel were extremely friendly - recommending restaurants and warning us about parking in the nearby square overnight due to an early morning market (Thursdays). The room was clean, the bedding of good quality and the bathroom perfectly adequate. There is a lounge area on the ground floor which was a perfect place to sit and relax - feeling more like a home than a hotel.
Overall an ideal base for any trip to the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    123
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
166
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, BC CANADA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Emmanuelle and Stephane are hoteliers extraordinaire. In 2009 we stayed in their small charming hotel in Tarascon on our first cycling tour of France. We were delighted to meet them again in Oct. 2011 when we arrived on our bicycles at Hotel Lou Cigaloun and discovered that they had changed venues and were now the proprietors of this larger hotel. They are remodeling the hotel bit by bit, and the parts that are finished are lovely. Delightful sitting areas are situated both indoors and out, and the breakfast room is bright and cheerful. The hotel is very well located in the old part of the city, near shops and restaurants, and just a short walk from the major attraction in Orange, the ancient Roman theatre. Don't miss touring this theatre, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the English language audio guide adds immeasurably to the experience.

Our comfortable room, number 2, was large, with two good-sized windows looking out on a quiet street. The tiled bathroom was positively luxurious, with two sinks and a bathtub, as well as a modern shower. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit salad, cheeses and a different cake each day, along with croissants and baguettes. The coffee machine grinds the beans freshly for each cup and produced perfect café au lait.

Emmanuelle speaks fluent English and was a fount of information, providing us with tickets for the theatre and museum, suggesting restaurants, and helping us sort out a small problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Orange, and would happily return to Hotel Lou Cigaloun

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldkoot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loucigalette, Gérant at Hotel Cigaloun-Orange, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thanks you so much for your comment.
We take this opportunity to thank all our customers who, after they left, take their time to write their criticism, often very positive.
Our first objective, of course, beyond the cleanliness and comfort of the facility is to provide our customers according to their expectations, all the information needed to make their stay as pleasant as possible: for example the addresses of good restaurants in the city of Orange based on their tastes and budget and the beautiful sights in and around Orange.
What we like in our business: contact, discussion, sharing with our customers ... we take, as necessary, the time of such exchanges.
Thank you to all our customers confidence in us.

Emmanuelle and Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Orange is a nice little base to explore upper Provence from - and if you are visiting France to soak up Frenchiness this is a great place to do it! Hotel Lou Cigaloun is a beautiful mix of modern (wi-fi, brand-new bathrooms, AC) and antique (exposed beams, stone, stucco) that reflects the Roman heritage of the town. It is comfortable, clean, well-equipped and charming. Emmanuelle speaks English and is warm and welcoming, ready with recommendations for local sights and restaurants. We stay in Orange frequently and expect to be back again and again! Hotel Lou Cigaloun deserves its top Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrenobleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed for 1 night only in November and it was great. Emmanuele is a very warm and welcoming host - we felt like guests in her home! The suite we stayed in was lovely with an extra sitting room and was decorated in a modern French chic style with a great bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean. The continental breakfast suited us fine and we were able to explore Orange on foot. It is worth booking the parking for the car as it was great to park the car and forget! We would have stayed longer if we had more time. Orange is a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennB379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We happened upon this hotel by accident and we loved it. The hotel is in the process of remodeling all the rooms and the upgrades are wonderful. The owners are very helpful and they provide a nice continental breakfast for a good price. All of Orange is withing walking distance. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonoraJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.6 km away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.3 km away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#5 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel L'Herbier d Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cigaloun-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cigaloun-Orange

Property: Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Address: 4 rue Caristie, 84100 Orange, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cigaloun-Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming destination on the edge of Provence, Orange is the ideal place from which to start discovering the region: prestigious cultural sites, historical heritage, local products and wine-tasting.Ideally located at the heart of the old Roman city, not far from the ancient theatre, Hotel Lou Cigaloun welcomes you to its 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cigaloun-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing