We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
84
55
31
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
55
31
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsthe busold townmain thoroughfarecharming familyfamily runlocal barnoise from the streethandy locationsmall roomfirst floorcroissantsfriendly hotelst jean cap ferratbeach towelschezthierry
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Local bar by the lights.

Plain and simple. No food.

Betty the owner is a treasure and an example to all older people working.

Merci

Toilet Report basic
:
Pricing:
Comments to Owner: more pressing choice
Comments to Chef:

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ProximoMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My wife and I spent one night in this charming small hotel on the main thoroughfare of Villefranche. The room was small but quite adequate and warmly and simply decorated. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was great. With the window closed, the noise from the street was completely shut out and the air conditioner kept the room pleasantly cool. The staff is very friendly and professional. They speak english well but will work with us when we speak french. The bar generally referred to as Chez Betty is a great gathering place for locals and visitors alike.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The room seems to have been renewed not that long ago, but there's some humidity since there were spots on two of the walls...
The bathroom was nice and it had a huge mirror. Big plus.
No TV and it was a little crowded when opening our bags and having to leave them on the floor.
The windows let the noise come in so it can be a little noisy when wanting to sleep.
Oh! And call them before you book with booking.com! The room is 12€ cheaper if you book with them directly!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntiaGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from a weeks stay in this small, centrally situated hotel. It is on the main road along the coast, so if you don't like noise and traffic you won't like it here, however if you want to be right in the middle of things it's a great hotel. Rooms basic and clean. Air conditioned and with the aircon on and the window closed you can hardly hear the road noise. We had a room at the front on the first floor. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms or tv if this is important. There are some small gardens across the road with markets on three days a week. It's about a three to five minute walk down to the old town and harbour which are magical. Especially the Citadelle. Ten minutes walk to the train station which takes you up and down the coast at very reasonable costs. Thierry and his family do everything to make your stay comfortable, a problem with the air con was fixed within 15 mins of our reporting it. The bar downstairs is a great place to just sit and watch the world go by. We travelled all over using the buses and trains. The tourist office is across the road from the hotel. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank orkneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife have just returned from an unforgettable break in villefranche staying at la regence hotel .There is an old saying of don't judge a book by its cover because once you enter the hotel it has a charm of its own ,with its shabby chic interior that oozes class and makes you smile when you enter the rooms which are a lovely size with air con and nicely appointed bathrooms .Everything in this hotel does what it should ,ok it's on a main road with traffic lites outside and a little traffic noise at nite but everything is within walking distance from the bus stop from nice to the train station from Monaco making this an ideal base for exploring the beautiful French Riviera.And how can we forget the family thats run the hotel for over 40 years,they are lovely friendly people who will do anything to help you,even down to providing beach towels at no extra charge, and they make a lovely capuchinno (according to my wife ).So if you're after a clean friendly base in a handy location check this place out ,we did and will be returning soon .Thanks to Betty ,Thierry and boys .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews