We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic B&B with friendly hosts and excellent location”
Review of Villa Elise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Elise
Ranked #6 of 15 Vence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2014

The positives: the location was very good; close to the old town and moments from the bus station. The hosts are friendly and helpful, providing tourist advice and making sure you feel comfortable. The breakfast table on the terrace was also quite nice. The bathroom was clean and new.

The negatives: The room I had was dark and not particularly airy, and the linen, beddings and towels were rather minimalist and more like a youth hostel rather than a B&B. I was not impressed with the mixed hangers from various retailers that were provided on a rack, serving as a wardrobe. I was also surprised that they did not clean the room everyday; every B&B I had stayed before at this price had provided minimal cleaning/towel changing everyday. The breakfasts provided lots of choice and the cooked eggs were nice, but most of the items seemed to be from supermarkets. At the price charged, it would have been nice to be provided some local produce, fresh juice/ bread or homemade items. We may have been spoiled by previous B&B hosts, but I did not feel like they were interested in providing a special experience to the guests over and beyond what they needed to provide.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Higasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2014

Our stay at Aux 3 Lits was just magical. We had a lovely top floor room which was very comfortable with a beautiful ensuite and everything was immaculately clean. A lovely bonus was our view of the ancient Vence laundry which is beautifully lit at night. Aux 3 Lits was easy to find and close to the walled old town so we were able to walk everywhere and explore beautiful Vence. Thank you Jean-Lucien and Sarah Jane for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 20Jan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is easy. Superb location. Excellent room (a bit small) and great breakfast. But the best was our hosts - so friendly. We will come back - that is for sure. We searched for rooms in Vence but everything was fully booked - it was our luck that someone cancelled their booking.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Walk right into the old part of town from this centrally located spot. Our room was spacious and airy with attractive appointments at an incredibly reasonable price. Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the hills. We had fresh croissants and bread, (were offered eggs), fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice and enjoyed our conversation with other guests from Europe. It was a fun, leisurely, way to begin the day. This is a good base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoOkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the nine nights we spent in Vence staying at this lovely little Bed and Breakfast! Jean- Lucien and Sarah Jane were very kind and helpful and had great helpful advice on things to do, walks in the area and practical suggestions for getting around on public transport. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the terrace and it felt very pleasant to have a chat to our hosts and the other guests.
Vence was a fabulous and peaceful base from which to explore the French Riviera. We made two day trips into Nice on the local bus( only 1 euro 50 per trip ) and spent a day in pretty Antibes. We were able to visit great art museums and saw wonderful work by Matisse, Picasso, Miro, Chagall, Leger and many others who all lived in the area.
We really liked our upstairs bedroom and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a nice big shower too in the ensuite bathroom. We were very happy we decided to stay at this lovely B and B and would love to return someday! We highly recommend this place if like us you want to spend time in a real community / village in this beautiful part of France and have easy access to a huge range of diverse and fascinating places to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.3 km away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
0.3 km away
La Maison du Frene
La Maison du Frene
#1 of 15 in Vence
160 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#6 of 13 in Vence
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
93 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Floreal
Hotel Le Floreal
#9 of 13 in Vence
276 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#5 of 13 in Vence
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Elise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Elise

Address: 3 Ter Rue Elise, 06140 Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range: €68 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in a charming old school. 1920 Liberty style building 150 meters from the medieval town of Vence and Provencal.City garden and terrace for breakfast.Charm, authenticity and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Elise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing